Focus

I walk 3.4 miles every day at the LC Greenway. I absolutely look forward to these daily walks, both physically and spiritually.  It’s a good time to enjoy my surroundings, pray and meditate on the things of God.  So off I go every day, Monday thru Friday, with my pepper spray in my pocket and my big wooden stick in my hand. I’m prepared!  I’m ready!

I must admit that I have found it easy to start off in prayer and meditation, but as I walk that path my focus can be drawn to the darkness around me. What’s that sound rustling in the trees? Could there be a bob cat ready to jump out at me?  (For yes, I have seen a bob cat there on that trail!) Could that dark shadow be someone ready to abduct me or cause me pain?  Is that person behind me another walker or someone following me?  As I allow my focus to be drawn on the possible dangers around me, I lose sight of the glorious day that I started out to experience. I then lose sight of the blue sky and the blessings that have been bestowed upon my life, because my thoughts have lost focus, and the darkness overtakes me. Fear creeps in and I lose the peace that I began with me on that walk. I don’t see the beautiful clouds for I have ceased looking up and instead I, myself, am the focus. On those days I truly am robbed of a blessed time with God and renewal both spiritually and emotionally.

I am thankful that the Holy Spirit, who walks that trails with me, beckons me and draws me back to what I need to think on, to pray on, to meditate on. Yes, I can think on the possible dangers and harm that may come my way. At those moments fear creeps in and my mind leaps in that negative direction.  But I know that I must stop focusing on the darkness around me and focus on what is good and righteous.

Philippians 4:8  “Finally, brethren, whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is right, whatever is pure, what er is lovely, whatever is of good repute, if there is any excellence and if anything worth of praise, let your mind dwell on these things.”

I believe the heart and spirit will be drawn to that which we allow to take hold of our focus. It is so important that we as believers discipline ourselves to focus on the right things…the things that lead us to the Father. Yes, I must be aware of my surroundings on the trail. I must walk in wisdom in all avenues of life. But my focus must be on the One who is in control of my life and the One whom my soul thirsts for.

What is your main focus in life? Is it drawn away to the many “to dos” and problems that come your way? Do the things you must. Take care of that which requires your attention. But give any and all problems to our Heavenly Father and keep your focus on Him. Yes, I will continue to carry my big stick and my pepper spray will be safely tucked in my pocket. I am using wisdom. But I refuse to let the darkness overtake me and rob me of moments spent in prayer and meditation. I don’t want to miss out on an opportunity to hear my Lord whisper to my soul. So on I walk! But I will pray and meditate on the things of God. I will enjoy the song of the birds and the ripple of the water. I will give a smile of joy to others passing by. And as I do these things, my spirit will listen for that still small voice that can find me when the darkness is not allowed to overtake.

~Dreama

Leave a Reply

