Not Satisfied with the Crumbs

Well over 10 years ago, I was talking to an acquaintance at a Christmas party. She was an older lady who was a prominent member of a church. I was really eager to talk to her about God. I just knew that she had all kinds of infinite wisdom to share with me. I was hungry for it. Towards the end of my conversation with her, her final words have stood out to me for over the past 10 years, “I don’t really want to know or learn anymore about God. I’m good with what I know already.” This statement floored me. I couldn’t understand who wouldn’t want to always know more of who God is.

I’m not writing about this as some sort of way of putting someone else down or placing myself on a pedestal. I’m just saying that if we have a desire to know God more; to be drawn more closely to Him that this desire must be maintained and fueled. If we don’t fuel it with time spent with Him in His word,  in prayer, and with other believers, then our embers burn out. We become complacent. It’s so easy for us to fall into that. It’s so easy to just be content with the status quo.

There is a story in the Bible where a gentile woman comes to Jesus’ for a miracle and He tells her that His bread was for His children

But Jesus replied, “It is not right to take the children’s bread and toss it to the dogs.” 27“Yes,Lord, she said, “- even the dogs eat the crumbs that fall from their master’s table.” 28“O woman,” Jesus answered, “your faith is great! Let it be done for you as you desire.” And her daughter was healed from that very hour.…

Now, I know the point of this story is this wise woman’s faith. Jesus answered her prayer which is so awesome. Yes, I want my prayers answered too, but it’s come to the point that I don’t just want answered prayers. I want HIM! The crumbs are not enough. Once being begged for and satisfied with, being a gentile I would’ve been content with only the crumbs. But I’m not a Gentile. I’m a child of God. I’m no longer ok with just getting crumbs here and there. I want all that Jesus has to give.

~Janean

Leave a Reply

