Become Like a Child

holdinghandsAs Scott and I watched our grandchild, Hazel, on Saturday, I was just in awe for her enthusiasm, laughter, joy for life, and total trust in us to keep her safe.  It was a glorious day as grandparents to have hugs and kisses, cuddle time, to read her books and see the delight in her face.

It was truly silly but we bought a Whoopee cushion for her to have fun with.  She had a lot of fun with it!  Oh the giggles and total abandon!  The innocence of childhood!

When we went to eat supper she wanted to walk between us and hold each of our hands.  She knew we would keep her safe.

Isn’t it the same with our heavenly Father?  Doesn’t he delight in us?  Doesn’t he want to show us the secrets of His kingdom, the deliciousness of the deepest meaning of His Word? His word brings such joy and our praise to Him should be with total abandon!

He wants us to come to Him as a child would and give Him spiritual hugs and kisses, special cuddle time with total innocence of our spirit.  I love to crawl up in His lap and savor His love.  He gave a short vision once, where we were all running towards the throne of God to sit on His lap.  There were so many of us I couldn’t count, but we each had our own special place on God’s lap for cuddle time.

I pray that I can learn to trust God wholly like a little child.  I want to bring everything to Him first, knowing He will take care of me and He will instruct me.  His son Jesus is holding my hand guiding my steps and I must not ever let go.  He will protect me always.  His wonderful gift of the Holy Spirit is so amazing!  He brings gifts we know are not our own but from our Father.

And they were bringing children to him that he might touch them, and the disciples rebuked them. 14 But when Jesus saw it, he was indignant and said to them, “Let the children come to me; do not hinder them, for to such belongs the kingdom of God. 15 Truly, I say to you, whoever does not receive the kingdom of God like a child shall not enter it.” 16 And he took them in his arms and blessed them, laying his hands on them.  Mark 10:13-16 ESV

~Suzanne

2 thoughts on “Become Like a Child

  1. What a beautiful picture of God’s love for us and the fact that each child is a gift from Him! Thank you for sharing this,Suzanne; I needed to read this today. 🙂

Leave a Reply

