Press In

silhouette-fitness-woman-stretching-sunrise-profile-sun-background-51804959One year ago, I experienced several injuries back to back. As I reflect over that time, I’ve taken many lessons away from those injuries. First, never wear sandals in the rain. You may slip while getting into a vehicle and break a toe. Second, never, and I do mean never, wear socks or long pants when walking down a flight of wooden stairs. Third, always hold the handrail while on the stairs. I have since made every effort to practice upmost stair safety, just ask my family. However, I am currently learning another lesson. It is a basic Christian 101 lesson.

When we come to our Heavenly Father in petition and prayer, the answer you receive may look completely different than the answer you thought you would or should receive. Basic,right? I thought this was ingrained in my walk with God since way back from Sunday school days. Turns out, we can learn or relearn something new each day.
The injuries I obtained with the fall on the stairs have had lingering issues into this year. Finally, enough was enough. I began to pray. I was praying for healing. I believed that I was going to receive complete restoration and mobility back into my hip. I was tired of being in pain, tired of limping around and tired of feeling like I had to put a limit on physical activity for fear of aggravating it. However, my healing wasn’t coming quickly enough. I mean, I had been praying for months. Finally, I was tired of waiting. I decided while I waited for God’s healing power, that I have personally witnessed, I would do something about it. Do you want to know what I did?
I went to spin class. Oh yes, you read that right. I figured it couldn’t get any worse so off to class I went. Each class brought strength and mobility back into my leg, which in turn brought relief in my hip that had been bothering me so badly. It dawned on me after a few weeks that I was receiving healing, however that healing looked so much like work, sweat and effort. It took me out of my comfort zone and right into the action. God was meeting me there each day.
You see, when we ask God for something, sometimes he will just answer in a timely manner and exactly how we expected. But other times, our answers may take on the face of work or sacrifice and can look nothing like we expected. In all of my years of being a Christian, I have seen God move in both ways. In both instances and in all circumstances we are to give glory to God. Be encouraged friends, God is always moving. It’s up to us to press in and move closer to him.

~Kristy

One thought on “Press In

Leave a Reply

