The Elephant Started It

elephant rattle 2Many of you know, my husband, Brad, and I have been trying to conceive a child for about two years.  For anyone who has struggled with conception or infertility, you know the heartbreak it can bring each month when you find out you are still not pregnant.

God had spoken to my spirit that we would conceive a child; however, sometimes it was still difficult to keep believing, and more so as time goes by.  To help me, I have had scores of believers praying with us.

Last year, one particular friend gave me a sweet Christmas gift, a small blue elephant rattle (pictured above).  It was a gift of faith that we would have a baby the following year.  I have kept it on my desk at work as a constant reminder of God’s promise to us.  God has also confirmed His promise via prophetic dreams from two of my friends.  He was speaking to me through others to help me remember His promise.

Earlier this year, my mom and stepdad gave us a HUGE faith gift.  She bought us several large baby items because she believed that God would give us a child as well.  Little did we know at the time, but I was already pregnant when she made the purchase.

As I write this, I am 13 weeks pregnant, and we are expecting our little blessing in December.  God has shown me so much through this process.  If you are going through a struggle, I encourage you to remember these things.

  1. God never promised that He wouldn’t give us more than we can handle.  BUT He did promise that we would never go through it alone. Matthew 28:20b, Isaiah 43:2-4
  2. God will place people in our path for counsel and wisdom as well as to help us keep the faith. Proverbs 11:14, Proverbs 27:9
  3. God keeps His promises regardless of what we currently see happening with our eyes. Walk by faith and not by sight.  Matthew 17:20 2 Corinthians 5:7

I would love to discuss my story in more depth if any of you would like to hear more.  We are overcomers by the blood of the Lamb and the word of our testimony.  (Revelation 12:11)  I hope this song may be some encouragement for those of you that are struggling. For some faith starts with a mustard seed; for me, in this particular season, it started with a little blue elephant.

~ Ashleigh

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qVYRc7LtvUA

3 thoughts on “The Elephant Started It

Leave a Reply

