Busyness Does Not Equal Importance

image2So this is my favorite coffee mug. Not just because it’s cute. Not just because of the scripture written on it. No, this is my favorite because this was gifted to me during a time in my life when I was so caught up in my busyness that God literally physically halted me. At the time this was given to me, I had just had surgery (from a car wreck) on my arm and was really struggling with my importance and worth. I honestly felt like I could not function and I was so frustrated at God. Logical? Probably not, but thankfully I never claim to be logical!

Let me give a bit of back ground to understand where my convinced ‘frustration’ came from. I was the cause of my wreck. I was lost, trying to get directions on the phone so I could get home and pulled into on coming traffic. Honestly, it was one of the scariest moments of my life. I still look back and cannot understand why I pulled out when I did. Why? Why would I do that? Over and over, those questions would circle and then came my frustration. I was so aggravated that I couldn’t do any of my normal everyday things. I was doing good to brush my teeth most days, forget about trying to take care of my children, my husband, and all the million and one other things I was in the mist of. However, through this time of literal brokenness, as well as spiritual brokenness, came understanding and healing. There is one verse that has only recently came to me mean so much to me, and I know I hold it close because it reminds me of my brokenness during this time- “But we have this treasure in jars of clay, to show that the surpassing power belongs to God and not to us.”

I was living my life thinking what I had and what I did was from me. That my worth was in the things I did and how people view me, not in my Father and what He wanted to do with me.

I know the amazing women who gave me this may not realize what they were truly gifting me with, but as I sit and look at these words, I am filled with love and promises as well as reminders. I had a devotion today, and in it was the saying “busyness does not equal importance.” It puts that time into such perspective. I was so busy trying to be wife, mom to two kids, working at pretty much two places at once, taking care of my grandparents whose health had started declining, worrying about if I was being accepted at church, and a few hundred other things. While I was there in the midst of all that crazy, broken struggle, my Father was just sitting there patiently (well and probably not so patiently too) nudging me, and guiding my path back to him. Through this struggle, bad attitude, and true frustration at not understanding what God was doing, I was given the understanding that He wants more for me and from me.  So now, while I’m still busy and God has put me in new a different positions in my life. I choose daily to remember that my life is His and I’m willing to place myself into the hands of the potter in order that He can continue molding and making me into someone that gives Him all of me. All day. Everyday. It’s my prayer and hope that wherever you are in your state of busyness that you stop, truly look at it, and ask yourself is this for me to feel important/needed? Or is this needed so that I can give my Father glory?

“But we have this treasure in jars of clay, to show that the surpassing power belongs to God and not to us.” ~2 Corinthians‬ ‭4:7‬ ‭ESV‬‬

“And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.” ~‭‭Philippians‬ ‭4:7‬ ‭ESV‬‬

“And he awoke and rebuked the wind and said to the sea, “Peace! Be still!” And the wind ceased, and there was a great calm.” ~Mark‬ ‭4:39‬ ‭ESV‬‬

~Nikki Carr

Leave a Reply

