Caution to the Wind

throw-caution-to-wind
Honestly, I am starting this blog out not having a clue where I am going with it.  I have written a few paragraphs all of which I have deleted because I am just writing words.  I am going through the motions.  So, I figured I would just write and see what’s in this heart.  What’s really on my mind?
Ok, the last two days I have been very stressed out.  Leesa and I are buying a home and so far God has really given us favor.  It has been so smooooooooth until yesterday.  Hahahahaah, I still feel God is giving us favor, but we have been spoiled and have hit our first speed bump.  This whole process I have talked to God so much about trusting Him.  Asking God to help me in trusting Him with the whole process.  Trusting that we will use wisdom.  Trusting that we will hear Him in the good and bad decisions.  What springs to my heart right this second is trust.  We try and try to lean on our own understanding when Proverbs 3:5 says to “trust in the LORD with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding;”.  Sometimes we have to accept that what we KNOW is irrelevant.  Our KNOWLEDGE is not always the point.  It helps in making wise decisions.  It helps….but it’s not the point.  Trusting God isn’t always LOGICAL looking at it carnally.  What’s logical about Moses sticking his staff in the water to split the sea?  What’s logical about Abraham taking his son up a mountain to kill him?  What’s logical about marching around a city while blowing horns waiting for walls to fall?  What’s logical about leaving your family business behind to follow this Rabbi who says…”follow me”?  Logic has nothing to do with it.  Trusting God doesn’t always make sense to us.  But that’s why it pleases Him so much.  We are going against everything that makes sense to us and stepping out in faith to trust Him.  We need to learn to throw caution to the wind and just jump in.  God has us….
Sometimes the only thing I know do is just praise God.  I heard a story by Bill Johnson that comes to mind.  He said one of his children at a young age was really sick.  Him and his wife were praying a lot and there wasn’t any healing yet. He said he finally told his wife to stop asking for healing and just praise.  He said they just started praising God and their child was healed.  Praise is powerful.  Maybe when you get to a point where trust is hard…maybe stop…take a breathe….and just praise God.  I know this story of three young men who’s king wanted them to bow to him.  They say NO.  The King says to throw the boys into a furnace I they don’t bow.  So they say that God will deliver them but even if He doesn’t…they won’t bow.
This trust looked an awful like praise to me.  They lifted God up by CHOOSING to trust Him.  Trust….is….powerful.  Maybe you’re back is up against a wall right now in life.  Trust Him.  Stop trying to determine God’s involvement based on your surroundings.  God is bigger than all of it.  It might not look like you think it will.  But God will come through.  These three young boys were thrown into the furnace.  They weren’t delivered before then…they were thrown right into the furnace.  But you know what?  God was with them IN the furnace.  Sometimes we are thrown into the middle of some serious STUFF but God is with us the whole time.  Deliverance doesn’t always mean avoiding the storm.  It’s God guiding us through the storm.  Trust Him even if the boat seems to be sinking.  Maybe the boat not sinking is your deliverance.  Maybe God will just give you the strength to swim to shore.  Trust God.  He won’t let you drown.
Guys, I started out this blog with no clue what I was writing, hahahaha.  I started three different blogs and deleted all of them.  God is teaching me trust all over again.  Maybe He is wanting to teach you this as well.  Trust is not something we master…it’s something learn…and learn…..and learn…..and learn.  Our trust in Him will grow stronger like a muscle.  Throw caution to the wind and jump.  Forget what you think you know and just trust that God knows what is best and will help you through it.
Leave a Reply

