Prosperous Life

graduation-cords

I love graduation time. The caps and gowns, rewards, speeches, inspiring quotes and lets not forget the 1000’s of items with Jeremiah 29 engraved on them.

 Jeremiah 29:11 For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.

So many powerful promises in that one statement. We all seek purpose. We want to know we are looked out for and there is a plan for us. Because, let’s get real, most of us have no idea what we are supposed to be doing. On many occasion I have asked God for neon signs to point me in the right direction.

What exactly is a prosperous life? If you are a new graduate, it may be the beautiful cord you wore around your neck at commencement. A symbol of your hard work and dedication. The pay check each month may be a symbol of your hard work and provision. Maybe it’s the new house, in the new neighborhood. The acceptance letter to a new program or certificate of completion in another. Maybe you are blessed to have a good marriage and obedient kids with good grades and perfect manners. Your prosperous life could be that you made it through one more day sober.

Sometimes our measures of a prosperous life don’t comfort us at night. We lay our heads on our pillows and we panic and we feel fear and we are sure we aren’t doing all the things that we are supposed to be doing. Our measurements are based solely on the things that the world tells us will give us worth.

Let’s continue on in Jerehemiah 29:

12 Then you will call on me and come and pray to me, and I will listen to you. 13 You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart.

This is my favorite part of this particular passage. It goes on to talk about how God is redeeming His people back to the promised land. I never understand why this part of the scripture is left off of the engravings and cards. This is the promise that beats all promises. God is with us. But, I want these words to linger with you, these promises from our Holy God.

You will call on me

Come and pray to me

I (God) will listen to you.

You will Seek me and Find me

When you seek me with all your Heart.

This, my friends, is the result of a prosperous life. God walks with us in our prosperity, in our hope, in our future, when we seek him with all our hearts. He listens. He will provide the peace you seek at the end of the day.

As believers, our measure of success and prosperity isn’t in the symbols of this place, but in the knowledge that God has the plan in his hands. When we seek him, He is with us. No matter your journey or your milestone. Faithfully dedicated or new christian, God walks with us when we seek him.

As you write down your goals, make your plans, seek new prosperity in your life, I would like to make a suggestion. The greatest part of the plan God has for you is the relationship with Him. In your work, in your schooling, your kids, your marriage, your friendships, your influence, your neighborhoods and communities, in your recovery, in your grief and in your joy; He will do a mighty work. Start with this scripture at the top of all your to-do list.

“…seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well. 34 Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.” Matthew 6:33-34

It is in the hands of our loving Father that we not only find peace but also our purpose.

~Angela

Leave a Reply

