The Day After

DSC_0044“When the Lord made a covenant with the Israelites, he commanded them. “Do not worship any other gods or bow to them, serve them, or sacrifice to them. But the Lord, who brought you up out of Egypt with might power and outstretched arm is the one you must worship. To Him you shall bow down and to Him offer sacrifices. You must always be careful to keep the decrees and ordinances, the laws and commands he wrote for you, and do not worship other gods. Rather worship the Lord your God; it is He who will deliver you from the hand of all your enemies.” ~ 2nd Kings 17:35-39

It continues with “They would not listen, however, but persisted in their former practices. Even while these people were worshiping the Lord, they were serving their idols. To this day, the children and grandchildren continue to do as their fathers did.”

It’s a Monday. Church was awesome as always. Worship was great and heartfelt. Now, I’m facing the day after. The hardship of my schedule. The problems I face at work. The worries that hover over my upcoming week. The distractions that I selfishly seek to instantly gratify my own desires. It all makes me forget the single-mindedness of the worship I had on Sunday.

Every day, we bow down to something. Everyday, we sacrifice to something. We choose the object of our worship. I want to choose God as the recipient of my worship. It’s never “I’ve got this all figured out and always make God my sole object of my affection.” It’s more like “God, I choose you. Help me to remain in You.” And it’s a daily decision for me. I read the above scripture and wonder how much to I turn to idols on a regular basis. I want to be aware of these things. I want to be constantly in remembrance of what He brought me out of. I don’t want to be listless to His wonder. I wish I could say that I do this easily. I don’t. It is a fight many days. However, it is a fight I choose daily to look past my pride, worries, fears, and selfish desires and focus on my God.

Worshiping God involves a focused and relentless pursuit to loosen the idols in our lives so that we do not mix with worship of our God. Our worship must be a focused remembrance of all that He has done and will do. It must be single-minded and not divided. God shouldn’t have to share our devotion with other things.

May we let go, God, the idols. Please bring them to our attention and help us to let them go. Help us to not worship you, then turn around and worship something else. Please give us wisdom and discernment concerning this. May our worship distinguish us from all others.

~Janean

Leave a Reply

