In the Spirit of Friendship

160113_friendshipI recently spent ten hours on a Saturday with a dear friend.  We didn’t do anything most would consider noteworthy.  We watched movies, chatted, worked on some craft projects, etc.  At the end of the day, in addition to the usual extrovert energy I have after being around folks, I also had an amazing peace about me like I had spent the whole day in God’s presence.  And I believe I did.

Matthew 18:20 tells us that where two are three are gathered, He is there.  I believe that as I spent the day with my sister in Christ, God spent the day with us.  Don’t misunderstand. While I believe that God is always with us, I also think sometimes His presence is more noticeable when those that are in Christ and called according to His purpose are spending time with one another.

Romans 8:11 tells us that the same Spirit that rose Christ from the dead, lives in us and gives us life in our bodies.  I contemplated the peace I had that day, and I wondered: could it be that I felt so in tune to God because I spent the day with a sister in Christ, who shares His same Spirit with me?  Did I feel more peaceful because as I sat there with her, God’s Spirit was giving life to both of us just like He breathed life into Adam?

C. S. Lewis once said, “What draws people to be friends is that they see the same truth.  They share it.”  As fellow believers we are drawn to one another because we share the same truth: the Way, the Truth, and the Life to be exact.  We have a common thread that knits us all together, and a hope that presses us forward.

The writer of Hebrews said, in Chapter 10 verse 25, “And let us consider how to stir up one another to love and good works, not neglecting to meet together, as is the habit of some, but encouraging one another, and all the more as you see the Day approaching.”  I think in these stressful days where we fill our lives with work and school, sports and hobbies, and all manner of busyness, we could all do with a little more fellowship with other believers.

My friend and I spent the day talking and laughing about family, faith, movies, books, and pretty much anything you can talk about in ten hours.  I believe God was there with us, and I think if He was in the habit of crocheting or cross-stitching, He would have been much more productive than we were that day.

Living in His Grace,

Ashleigh

2 thoughts on “In the Spirit of Friendship

  1. Thank you for this blog, Ashleigh…it’s wonderful to spend time with friends who know the Lord and share His Spirit when in their presence. It also reminds me of the verse in Proverbs that speaks of believers sharpening one another “as iron sharpens iron”. So good to be with others who are pulling in the same direction…giving one another uplifting rest even in the midst of activity. 🙂

Leave a Reply

