Painful Promises

tunnel

It’s the middle of February, so I thought that I’d write something about love, but honestly, I’m just not feeling it. I’m sure that will come at another time, but for today I have something else brewing. I do have a point. It’s just takes me a bit to get there, so please bear with me.

As many of you know, I’m a doula. There are few things I love more than serving a woman throughout her labor and delivery. The experience of a new baby being birthed is a miracle that can never be fully expressed in words. God created our bodies to do amazing and beautiful things all throughout pregnancy and the birthing process. Emotions of all kinds fill a labor room. There is excitement, fear, anxiety, joy…It’s an incredible journey in the life of a woman that changes her forever.

During the process of labor there is often times something called the “natural alignment plateau”. It’s a time when there is a “stall” in cervical dilation. Your body continues to labor, but it seems as though nothing is happening and that the contractions are unproductive. It’s at this time that doctors like to intervene and help push things along. You see, doctors like for your cervix to dilate about 1 centimeter every hour. If this pattern comes to a halt, it’s said that you are “failing to progress”. However, I like so many other women, know that during this plateau my baby was adjusting her body to be in better alignment with mine so that she could be born in a more convenient and comfortable way. Sometimes this plateau last for minutes, and at other times it lasts for hours. But once baby is ready, things pick up again and before long you’re holding your new little miracle.

And now I get to my main point…

I believe that many of us have been, or are currently on, a spiritual natural alignment plateau of sorts. I know that sounds strange, but hear me out. We have been waiting and praying for years for very specific things like unity in our marriage, to become pregnant, for the salvation of a loved one, or for healing of a physical ailment. We’ve cried out to God, and yet we still haven’t seen the results for which we so desperately pray. It seems as though things have stalled. Some days we feel like God is so close that we could physically touch Him, and other days He feels further than the moon. We get frustrated and try to help God out. We don’t like this feeling of “failing to progress.” It’s a long and tedious process. Yet we must continue to pray and believe that God is faithful to His promises.

Could it be that God has a plan? Could it be that He is taking His time to get everything into perfect alignment so that He can show Himself to us in a miraculous way that will change us forever? The process is sometimes a long and painful one, but it’s pain with a purpose. God is using this time to mold and shape us, and to teach us to rely on Him. We feel as though things have come to a halt, but in fact God is producing things within us that we can’t even imagine. He wants our hearts, minds, and spirits to align with His so that He can use us to do amazing things for His glory.

I believe that 2016 is going to be a year that we see the fulfillment of God’s promises. I believe that the alignment process is almost complete, and that our prayers and God’s answers are about to collide creating unbelievable miracles. God has never failed us, and He won’t start now. Things may not happen when we think that should, but they will happen in His perfect timing. You may feel tired and weary, but “Those that wait upon the Lord shall renew their strength…” Isaiah 40:31 Don’t give up! Do everything you can to align yourself to God, and just wait and see what He can do!

In His Grip,

Farah N. Rains

4 thoughts on “Painful Promises

  1. Really needed this today! I have not only been hearing God speak this truth to my own heart, but have heard it in a sermon yesterday, in another blog last week…I think He is trying to get his point across. I believe so many of us find ourselves in that “plateau” and struggle to remember God’s faithfulness. Discouragement and hopelessness so easily seep in during these times. I have been making a more conscious effort to not focus on the current unpleasantness of my situation and remembering that He has a plan, His ways of bringing about His plan are not my ways, and that He is faithful to His promises. Thank you for this timely reminder!

  2. Thank you Farah. I see God working on us and moving in Canvas this year! Two years ago I had a dream about Canvas. I saw so many people in the cafe and I kept repeating to Daniel, “We need more chairs in the sanctuary!” The other Sunday, Scott said Daniel had to add more chairs to the sanctuary! This was so exciting to hear! In God’s timing…can’t wait to see the rest of it unfold.

  3. Thank you for this wonderful post, Farah! God gave me a similar word during worship yesterday. God said not to despise the “winters” in our lives, for they are made for His rest, just as it is in nature. Then He is the one that makes the growth happen, in His way, His timing, and His power, not ours. God is so smart! 🙂

  4. Such a good word! We are accustomed to the “instant world” of things happening quickly and when we want it. Microwaves, fast food, internet delivering our homes. So we also want God to work at the same pace. Thank you for this word which is SO relevant to us in the Christian World today!

Leave a Reply

