Where We Go for Approval

 

break-people-pleasing-630x315I am a self diagnosed People Pleaser. There I said it!! I feel so much better already.

I care about what people think of me, say about me and feel about me. It’s not easy to be a People Pleaser. We tend to overthink and analyze EVERYTHING! To say it’s a burden would be a complete understatement.
Now, I’m not sure if toppling over into my late 20’s is having this effect on me or not but I’m laying down this burden in 2016 and I’ve never been more free! I felt a call from the Holy Spirit to embrace the person I am created to be because there’s only one Kristy Goff. There shall never be another. He’s calling me to set my focus on Him and zero in on how I can please His heart. However, when I boldly make a life statement I immediately face many opportunities to test the waters.
‘God, what if they think I’m stupid?’
‘Lord, what if they think I’m selfish?’
‘God, what if they gossip behind my back?’
‘Lord, what if I never see them again because they think I’m being judgmental?’
‘God, what did I do/say to make this person not like me?’
At first these seem like self-absorbed, inward looking statements. Maybe there is some of that. However, I truly believe we are held back in our walk with Christ when we are so concerned with man’s opinion of us that we fail to know or even seek God’s opinion of us. This year I am striving for a closer, more intimate relationship with Christ, as I’m sure many of you are as well. What are some ways we can lay the burden down of people pleasing? I’d like to take a stab at that.

1. Get into the Word. On a regular basis. Make it a desired priority and not just an obligation.

2. Get a solid accountability friend. Someone who believes in you and can lift you up in times of weakness.
3. Pray. Everyday. Ask for opportunities to attempt to please God today?
4. Write it down. When we write down specific prayers/goals/achievements, it gives us something tangible to look back on in times of uncertainty.
This is going to be a challenge for me. Seeking the approval of man is not something I will overcome all at once. It will be a process. It gives me great peace, however, knowing that I will find help, grace and acceptance through pursing my Father’s heart and not pursing man’s opinion.

Galatians 1:10 – Am I now trying to win the approval of human beings, or of God? Or am I trying to please people? If I were still trying to please people, I would not be a servant of Christ.

With much love, Kristy

3 thoughts on “Where We Go for Approval

Leave a Reply

