Burdens Become Blessings

Perseverance-400x385

Many times, I have asked “Why God,” and I haven’t received an answer.  There are seasons in my life where I felt completely isolated from everyone.  While I have never struggled with believing the love of Christ, I have still had times where I found it difficult not to question God’s sovereignty.

I have several close friends right now who are going through the biggest battles of their life. Some physical, some temptation, some debilitating mental illness, all of which I have experienced at some point of my life.  Because of the low points in my life, I am able to help them through theirs.  The trials that we go through aren’t in vain.  In some cases, the points where we are at our weakest, make us stronger.  In other cases, they allow for God to display His strength (2 Cor 12:9).

Over and over, I have wondered why God is making me go through whatever it is I am going through and why he won’t just remove the burden.  Had I not gone through the fire, I wouldn’t have the testimony I have today.  And it is by His blood and my testimony that I am an overcomer (Rev 12:11).  Recently, someone who had heard my testimony came to me for help when she found herself faced with the same situation.  In that moment, I was grateful that God had allowed me my struggle, so that I would be able to speak hope into her life.

I love this quote below from Max Lucado.  He is referring to God’s delivery of His people from slavery in Egypt.  He wanted to them to arrive in the land of milk and honey when they were ready.  It took a long time, but they got there.  It was much more about the journey than the destination.

“He was more concerned that they arrive prepared than that they arrive soon.” from A Gentle Thunder

I try to remember that God always has my best interests in mind (Jer 29:11), He will never leave me (Heb 13:5), and all things will work together for my good (Rom 8:28).

I’ll leave you with this song of perseverance, and I pray your burdens someday will transform into blessings for others.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qVYRc7LtvUA

God bless you and Merry Christmas!

One thought on “Burdens Become Blessings

Leave a Reply

