Bless the Lord at All Times

100099299_22Well, the last few months of my life have been completely chaotic and crazy busy! In the last couple of weeks I’ve had some moments that I don’t care to ever repeat. How have I handled it all you may ask? Honestly, not in the way woman of God should. I have had some good days, but overall, I’ve been a whiny baby who needs to suck it up and put on my big girl panties. Yes, that’s blunt, but it’s true. Things aren’t always going to go my way, and that’s okay. It hit me today, when I seriously wanted to blurt out an ugly word because I couldn’t find a can opener, that I was acting like a spoiled brat.

      You see, my family is in the process of moving, and we have found ourselves without a home at the moment. We had to move out of the house we sold, but our new house isn’t quite ready for us to move into yet. Thankfully my sister has a house that is on the market that we are staying in temporarily. Anyway, here’s what God slapped me with today –
    Me: I don’t have a can opener.
    God: You have food.
    Me: I keep wearing the same
    outfits over and over.
    God: You have clothes.
    Me: I don’t have all of the
    books and supplies I need for
    homeschooling.
    God: You have the privilege of
    being home with your
    awesome children.
    Me: I’m going over my normal
    gas budget because all of the
    extra back and forth.
    God: You have a car – 2
    actually.
    Me: Yeah, but they are both
    junk.
   God: They do for you what
   they were made to do.
   Me: I don’t have a clock or an
   outlet near the bed, and I have
   to get up to check my phone
   during the night. (Seriously?)
   God: You have a bed, you
   have a phone, you have legs
   to get yourself up.
I could continue, but you get the idea. I’ve just had a bad attitude lately. Things haven’t gone my way, and instead of looking at the whole picture, I’ve chosen to focus on the small aggravating things. I’m a little peon in the great big world, and yet God has blessed me beyond measure. I have all that I need, and a lot of what I want. I’m human, I’m tired right now, and I have a long couple of months ahead of me. Because of this I know I will inevitably whine and complain again at some point, but my focus has changed. I choose to have a heart of thankfulness. My life may be a roller coaster right now, but at least I can choose to enjoy the ride. Things may not go the way I hope, but I can choose to “bless the Lord at all times”.
     As stressed and overloaded as I may feel at the moment – it is was it is – and my only option is to glorify God with my words and actions through it all. I’ve been blessed more than I could ever deserve, but I certainly haven’t praised God as He deserves. So this evening after I put the kids to bed, I just began to thank God for being amazing. I praised him for all of the times he’s answered my prayers, for blessing me with a wonderful family, for bringing joy during sadness, and hope for tomorrow. I thanked him for eyes to see, ears to hear, and a heart that is humbled. And lastly, I thanked him for helping me find that stinking can opener!
Psalm 34:1

I will bless the Lord at all times: his praise shall continually be in my mouth.”

Psalm 103:1-5

“Bless the Lord, O my soul,

    and all that is within me,
    bless his holy name!
Bless the Lord, O my soul,
    and forget not all his benefits,
who forgives all your iniquity,
    who heals all your diseases,
who redeems your life from the pit,
    who crowns you with steadfast love and mercy,
who satisfies you with good
    so that your youth is renewed like the eagle’s.”

 
Job 1:21 “…The Lord gave, and the Lord has taken away; blessed be the name of the Lord.”

~Farah N. Rains~

2 thoughts on “Bless the Lord at All Times

  1. Thank you for the post may you always have peace and love in your hearth and the remaining days you walk
    I want you to know that you are in my prayers and I give thanks for knowing you yes you are awesome and a beloved daughter of our Heavenly Father
    I have missed your aquantenace over the years but I still think of you as friend and a great person I don’t want to whin either as have sat her days on end with no one to talk to but I have a beautiful wife that comes every night to easy the pain and I am thankful for her and good Lord that sent her my way

  2. Thank you so much for sharing this glimpse into your life, Farah. You said it well that “it is what it is”, employing radical acceptance of the situation, and turning your heart to worship and gratefulness. I like your style! 🙂

Leave a Reply

