He First Loved Us

Glory“If you’ve gotten anything at all out of following Christ, if his love has made any difference in your life, if being in a community of the Spirit means anything to you, if you have a heart, if you care— then do me a favor: Agree with each other, love each other, be deep-spirited friends. Don’t push your way to the front; don’t sweet-talk your way to the top. Put yourself aside, and help others get ahead. Don’t be obsessed with getting your own advantage. Forget yourselves long enough to lend a helping hand.” ~ Philippians 2: 1-4 (The MSG)

This is the kind of love God has called us to. It isn’t easy for me. I doubt it is easy for many of us. It isn’t in our nature to love this way, unselfishly. However, when we’ve humbled ourselves and are able to see the unselfish love that we receive from God, we are ready, willing, and able to give that kind of love to others. To those who may not be able to give back. To those who may have done nothing to earn it from us. Pastor Nick elaborated on this so much better than I can in a 5 minute blog post, but I’m convicted regardless. How I need to open myself to offer this kind of love to others, putting myself aside. My needs. My desires. Put it all aside to become a living fountain;humbly accepting the love that I know I don’t deserve and pouring that same kind of love out upon those God has chosen to place in my daily realm. Pray for me that I am daily reminded of this and emboldened to act. I will pray for you as well the same for you. In doing so, we are growing into a healthy body of Christ.

~Janean

One thought on “He First Loved Us

  1. I love your wording and imagery here, Janean! A great reminder of living as a family vs. as individuals, and to remember that God is the lifter of our heads. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

