Burn Away

 

flame-edIt’s Fall. It’s my favorite time of year. The leaves are changing colors and falling all around us. The mornings are crisp and cool. The evenings are warm and breezy, with no humidity. One of my favorite things to do is blow leaves into a pile and then set them on fire. The smell and crackling sounds are therapeutic to me. This chore leaves our yard a clean slate for more leaves to fall and be burned again. Our neighbors were the first to do this chore this year. As I looked at the yard getting cleaner and the fire get bigger as more leaves were added to it, a song that we used to sing while I was in youth began to play in my brain.

“Start a fire in me. Let the flames run free. Burn away the dross. HOLY FIRE OF GOD.”

For some reason, this time of year is when I go into reflection mode. I love to set resolutions. Make new goals. Write some things down. Pray.

As I began to write the words to this song in my journal, my heart was filled with hope and my eyes with tears. I pray that God can remove the wasteful impurities in my heart and replace them with his life giving love.

I have this strong imagery of him gathering all the junk in my life that needs a touch of his holy fire. Placing them in one big pile. Lighting the match and burning them away. Leaving a new, clean and pure life to fulfill his purpose with. Hebrews 12:29 says, “For our God is an all-consuming fire”. I pray that He will burn every ounce that is not a pleasing aroma to him.

~Kristy

Leave a Reply

