Alpaca Breath and Other Aphrodisiacs

ashalpaca

My husband, Brad, and I are home bodies.  We don’t do a lot of adventuring about.  Earlier this week, Brad, asked me on a date.  An ALL DAY out of town kinda date.  At first I said “Pod person!” Then I said “Yes!”

We gassed up, hit Dunkin Donuts for coffee, and headed to Circle G Ranch in Strawberry Plains.  I have wanted to go there for two years.  Mostly, I wanted to kiss a zebra. Insert emphatic emoji here. However, I love animals of all kinds, so this was the perfect way to start our day date.  I won’t go into all the details, but it was an adventure for sure.  For the record, out of all the animals that got in my personal space, the Alpaca had the most horrifying breath.

Then we headed to Apple Barn in Sevierville for lunch.  Because we are “mature” adults, we decided to start our lunch by splitting a fried apple pie. Then we had very generous portions of southern cooking.

The day wasn’t over.  We drove through Brad’s old stompin grounds in Walland on our trek back to Maryville, where I took a nap.  Last we had dinner at Allison’s Catfish in Friendsville with an inspiring couple.

While I don’t normally like busy Saturdays, I absolutely loved this one.  A day date with my husband was exactly what I needed.  I want to share some reasons why.

  1. It’s nice to deviate from routine.  When you exercise your muscles, if you keep doing the same movement over and over, it is committed to muscle memory and your muscle doesn’t benefit from it anymore.  Even at the muscular level, God has designed us to get out of our comfort zone.
  2. Fun is FUN!  Jesus gave us abundant life, so that we could LIVE it.  While I don’t think that scripture’s original intention was in this context, it remains true.  I do believe that our Creator delights in His children having fun.  For those of you with kids, think about how much you enjoy it when your child gets a kick out of something!
  3. Marriage is an investment.  If you want your house to last you a lifetime, you keep up with the repairs.  If you want to get keep your car running smoothly, you put oil and gas in it.  Marriage is no different.  Marriage is a lifetime commitment.  It starts with love, but it takes a lot more than that to make it last.  We need to do everything we can to invest in our marriage.  This includes dating/romancing your spouse.  Whether you have been married 10 weeks or 40 years, it is important to remind yourself why you fell in love in the first place.

“A successful marriage requires falling in love many times, always with the same person.” -Mignon McLaughlin

“Invest in your marriage, and it will last a lifetime”-me and probably a lot of other people before me

God Bless,

Ashleigh

2 thoughts on “Alpaca Breath and Other Aphrodisiacs

  1. Thanks for posting this, Ashleigh! A solid, lasting friendship is a good deal of the recipe for being in love for life…being totally and unreservedly FOR one another, eh? So happy you two had fun!!!

Leave a Reply

