“You are my Lord; apart from you I have no good thing.”

This blog was originally posted via That Girl

004_21aThis is going to be a quick read. I’ve had very little time for writing. Mostly because I’ve had very little head space to have any thoughts other than work and school. I’m under a lot of stress right now and sometimes it feels like I carry life on my own shoulders. I get frustrated with people. Not everyone. Just those who are close to me or at least affect my day. Somedays, it feels like more is taken from me or expected of me to give than what is given back. Somedays, someone has let me down. I get tired. I want to fix them. I want to set things straight. I mull it over and over again trying to find a way to make things how I think they should be.

We all have those people in our lives that we feel have let us down. Maybe it’s a one time deal. Maybe it’s an everyday thing. Sometimes our expectations are unrealistic on them. Sometimes, we’re justified. Either way, we get hurt and disappointed. Here is a dose of reality for the reader today (as well as for myself). People will let us down. We do have expectations on those close to us that they cannot meet.

This in and of itself is okay as long as we can keep it in a healthy perspective. It is not okay, for them or for us, when we condition our happiness around what other people do or don’t do for us. When that becomes our condition to our happiness, we find ourselves seldom joyful. It embitters us. We fail to recognize the blessing that people bring into our lives. We become resentful, cynical, and hard hearted towards the people that God has placed and purposed in our lives.

Here is the fix. Stop placing a complete reliance on what others do or don’t do for your source of joy. Only God and God alone can handle our expectations. He’s big enough. Whether His answers are a yes or a no, it doesn’t matter because He is faithful in His yes or no’s. He always acts in our good even when it isn’t what we wanted. Faith is necessary to accept this, but the more we run to Him for everything instead of running to things or people, the more we find that He is listening, He is powerful, and He does care, this in turn increases our faith.

When we find ourselves feeling frustrated and disappointed with those around us; be it our spouse, child, sibling, parent, friend, or coworker, we need to stop focusing on what they’ve done or not done for us. We need to instead meditate on all the things that God has done for us. How faithful He is. How good and loving He is. How time and time again, He has answered our call. How He is our safe place when we need refuge and peace. How He is our protector. How He is our provider. How He is our healer. When we place our hopes, fears, vulnerabilities, frustrations, and heart in His hands; He won’t let us down. We will find ourselves more steady in peace, patience, and kindness to those around us who do. We will be empowered to extend grace to those around us. We will also be humbled to acknowledge that we let down people too. Which, in turn, there is grace and forgiveness in that as well.

 “He who lives in the safe place of the Most High will be in the shadow of the All-powerful. I will say to the Lord, “You are my safe and strong place, my God, in Whom I trust.”  For it is He Who takes you away from the trap, and from the killing sickness.  He will cover you with His wings. And under His wings you will be safe. He is faithful like a safe-covering and a strong wall.” ~ Psalm 91:1-4

~Janean

Leave a Reply

