Re-Deemed

SunRise God has been speaking to my heart about what it really means to be redeemed.  It occurred to me that it does not merely mean to be bought back or purchased.  When something is “deemed”, it is judged, defined as or characterized.  So, if something or someone is re-deemed, it means they are re-judged, re-classified, re-defined.

I’m going to step out on a limb a little here, and state unequivocally that I have struggled with debilitating depression for most of my life, the kind that takes one out of commission.  Acceptance of that fact is in itself upsetting to me, and the enemy regularly attacks with guilt, shame, and accusations.  My sins and conditions are all too obvious, both to myself and others.  Tumbling down the spiral would be all too easy…UNTIL I cry out to God, and Jesus steps in through the Holy Spirit, and began to tell me the truths I so desperately need, whilst He holds me close to reassure me of His love, acceptance, and my worth to Him.  They are not easy things to hear, for the most part.

 He spoke to me through one of my favorite movies, “Patch Adams”.  The beginning of the movie takes place in a mental hospital, where the protagonist has committed himself due to being suicidal.  The character Arthur Mendelson is talking to Hunter {whom he renamed Patch}, saying to him, “You’re focusing on the problem.  If you focus on the problem, you can’t see the solution.  Never focus on the problem!  Look at ME!  See what no one else sees.  See what everyone else chooses NOT to see out of fear, or conformity, or laziness.  See the whole world anew.  Each day!”

 Jesus was telling my heart to quit focusing on what I could not change and to look at HIM.  He is the one that has the wisdom, discernment, and outright miracles to make things happen so that His kingdom will be glorified and His love spread out like a tremendously huge waterfall unleashed.  He was telling me that He has re-deemed me as worthy of love…most especially, HIS love.  Not because of anything I actually deserved, but because of His colossal overpayment for my sins and everyone else’s on the cross.  He wants to change my name…from wounded, outcast, lonely, and afraid to overwhelming conqueror, loving healer, valiant warrior princess, cheerful giver, competent, protected bride of Christ, loved by Love itself.

 It’s not merely a matter of reframing thought patterns; it’s a matter of deep transformation, healing, and repentance.  Jesus will do the former; I am responsible for the latter.  The repentance is that of the reverse pride of insecurity.  Confidence in our own abilities produces selfish pride; confidence in Jesus’ sufficiency produces good fruit.  Understanding Jesus’ sufficiency and who we are in God deals with the insecurity.  Remembering who we were deals with pride.

 Remembering what God has already accomplished and continually does on our behalf produces faith in His mercy, His lovingkindness.  His first commandment to His people:  REMEMBER.  It begs the question as to why our memories are so “leaky, no?  Asaph knew this well as he wrote Psalm 77. In verses 1-3, he describes his anguish:

“I cried out to God with my voice – to God with my voice; and He gave ear to me.  In the day of my trouble I sought the Lord; my hand was stretched out in the night without ceasing; my soul refused to be comforted.  I remembered God, and was troubled; I complained, and my spirit was overwhelmed.”

 In verses 9-15, he cries out in worship and remembrance, trusting God to rescue his soul:

 “Has God forgotten to be gracious?  Has He in anger shut up His tender mercies?  And I said, ‘This is my anguish; but I will remember the years of the right hand of the Most High,’ I will remember the works of the LORD; surely I will remember Your wonders of old…Your way, O God is in the sanctuary; who is so great a God as our God?  You are the God who does wonders; You have declared your strength among the peoples.  You have with Your arm redeemed Your people…”

 God is not merely there as an adjunct to our strength; He IS our strength.  I need to keep my eyes fixed on Him at all times, because my vulnerability is higher than many others in such important ways.  God uses everything in creation to speak this truth to us.  There is beauty everywhere if we allow ourselves to see it.  Jesus wants to re-deem you and me from the world’s definitions {or even at times, other Christians} of who we are and our capabilities.  I pray that you and I are consistently willing to have our eyes opened to the wonder of His justification, His re-naming, His re-deeming us through a relationship with Jesus, called by the Father, established and increased by the Holy Spirit.  We are indeed broken, just like our world; yet the wonders of hope await us daily.  After all, beautiful gardens come from compost heaps.  We have the promise of redemption, our re-deeming, from a Creator who loves us.

Denise Chambellan

2 thoughts on “Re-Deemed

  1. Thank you for this, Denise! God placed something very akin to this on my heart yesterday during worship, while we were singing “Broken Vessels.” Good stuff, sister!

Leave a Reply

