The Courageous Chicken

Prayer_Sunset Despite having known Jesus for a number of years, I still find myself looking at many of life’s struggles with much trepidation {and not a few times, I might add}.  Why is this so after having studying the Word, after having seen God’s hand rescuing me and others countless times, after numerous reminders about who I am in Christ?  I’m reminded of one of Hawkeye’s lines from the show M*A*S*H when he is asked to do something both dangerous and in line with a position of command.  He says, “Who ME???  My insignia is a cringing chicken!!”
A huge part of the problem is that like many others, I fail to understand just how big God is, and how He wants us to access Him and His power.   That is when we begin to trust in our own strength, and like David, begin to count our horses and chariots to determine how well we are able to conquer our enemies.  This amounts to idolatry.  We may have initiative and persistence, yet a total grasp of unreality.  I am reminded of an old worship song called “Be Magnified”:
I have made You too small in my eyes
Oh Lord, forgive me
When I have believed in a lie
That You were unable to help me

But now, Oh Lord, I see my wrong
Heal my heart and show Yourself strong
And in my eyes and with my song
Oh Lord, be magnified
Oh Lord, be magnified

Be magnified, Oh Lord
You are highly exalted
And there is nothing You can’t do
Oh Lord, my eyes are on You
Be magnified, Oh Lord, be magnified

I have leaned on the wisdom of man
Oh God, forgive me
When I have responded to them
Instead of Your light and Your mercy
Jeremiah 32:17, 27
“Ah Lord GOD!  Behold, You have made the heavens and the earth by Your great power and by Your outstretched arm!  Nothing is too difficult for You…Behold, I am the LORD, the God of all flesh; is anything too difficult for Me?”
So, what is the answer to the problem?  WORSHIP andOBEDIENCE.  After reading the stories of God’s saving power in the Old Testament, one thing stood out far and away above anything else.  The people had victory when they worshipped.  They stepped out in faith and obedience to Yahweh, and THEN, God followed through and won the victory for them!  When two armies set out against the Israelites and King Jehoshaphat, God prophesied to the King:
II Chronicles 20:15, 17
“Listen all Judah and the inhabitants of Jerusalem and King Jehoshaphat; thus says the LORD to you, ‘Do not fear or be dismayed because of this great multitude, for the battle is not yours, but God’s…You need not fight in this battle; station yourselves, stand and see the salvation of the LORD on your behalf…’”
A few verses later, the King directed his people to begin praising and worshipping.  This was the result:
 
II Chronicles 20: 21, 22
“Give thanks to the LORD, for His lovingkindness is everlasting.  When they began singing and praising, the LORD set ambushes against the sons of Ammon, Moab, and Mount Seir…so they were routed.”
Jesus created us for victory!  We are to sing songs to celebrate God’s help when we are in trouble.  Imagine what lives we can live for Him if we choose to worship and celebrate His powerful love all the time!  In the New Testament, Paul encourages us:
Romans 8:37
“But in all these things we overwhelmingly conquer through Him who loved us.”
I am so thankful to God that I do not have to use my own courage to win battles or simply to live each day…all I need to do is place myself and the situations I face in His hands by worshipping and praising Him.  God is pleased with this type of intercession.  Some believers choose to call it “intercessory praise”.  And He accepts it, even from a cringing chicken, moving to defend His children and further His kingdom of love through them.
~ Denise Chambellan
Leave a Reply

