For everything there is a Season – Ecclesiastes 3:1

Hapgood_Pond_-_Flickr_-_USDAgovA long time ago, I was that <crazy> person that vacuumed my furniture every other day. If you spent any time at my house, you can vouch for the obsessive level it reached. Something about having those beautiful, clean lines on my tan suede furniture made everything right in my little world. Today, I cannot even tell you the last time a vacuum hose even touched my furniture. Things change. Seasons change.

Sometimes I daydream; attempting to imagine what our lives may look like the day Frank and I will be ‘empty nesters’. What will our home be like when tiny toddler tantrums aren’t ruling the house? Or homework consuming the evenings? Or basketball games reserving the early Saturday morning spot? I find myself looking far into the future.

Here’s where a little conviction snuck in on me. Not necessarily about these specific, earthly things. Moreover, about my frame of mind when my thoughts are dwelling in the past and in the future. The Holy Spirit had some things to say to me.

How often do we find ourselves dwelling in the past? Or planning, worrying and praying for the future. Now before I move on, let me just state. The Bible is very clear on the command of ‘Remember’. You can google that one if you’d like! Also, planning and preparing, laying the ground work for the future is wise and responsible. The negative side of allowing oneself to stay in either of these extremes, is the missing out of the here and now. God is working, pruning, calling his children to the field. He’s beckoning his followers to build the kingdom of God, here and now. If our sights are ONLY set on things long ago or things yet to come, we may miss the Holy Spirit’s direction to encourage that friend going through a tough time. We may miss an opportunity to help out a neighbor that just lost their job. We could lose the moment of empowering a child that may never hear of their worth at home.

I never want to fail to remember the blessings God has given me in the past. I never want to fail to ask God for blessing, provision and covering over the things coming towards me in the future. Most importantly I don’t want to get to the end of my life’s journey and God tell me, ‘You were so caught up in future prep work or too busy filling your thoughts of how life has changed over time, you missed it. You missed the whole point.’ No, no. I want to hear, ‘Well done, good and faithful servant. You tuned into my work, my bigger purpose than just the mundane day to day. You got it. You got the whole point. Wherever I put you, you were ALL there.’

Friends, God is moving in whatever season you currently find yourself in. Tune into the Holy Spirit. Set your sights on things above. Ask God to show you the purpose to every season you go through. Ultimately, things change. Seasons will change, again and again. God NEVER will, that’s a promise!

Kristy

~Colossians 3:1 -4 – Since you have been raised to new life with Christ, set your sights on the realities of heaven, where Christ sits in the place of honor at God’s right hand. Think about the things of heaven, not the things of earth. For you died to this life, and your real life is hidden with Christ in God. And when Christ, who is your life, is revealed to the whole world, you will share in all his glory.

~Hebrews 13:8 – Jesus Christ is the same yesterday, today and forever.

3 thoughts on “For everything there is a Season – Ecclesiastes 3:1

  1. I loved this Kristy. This is so true and you’re so wise beyond your years to have already figured this out. Some of us took a little longer to get this one ;)…..and I still forget at times to just breathe, look around and enjoy the season I’m in. Love the sweet spirit this was written in too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

