He is Our Courage

S11815-lgI was standing on a precipice overlooking a great valley. In that valley was a massive, intimidating dark army.  I was fearful, not only because of the vastness of the army before me, but also because I wasn’t sure I would have the courage to stand firm and fight.  I prayed, “God, how am I supposed to have the courage go out and face this army? It’s too big and more than I can handle.”  It was then I looked behind me and saw the Almighty God behind me.  Seeing His greatness and knowing He was with me, I felt the fear melt away. He said to me, “It is because I go before you and stand behind you that you can go out and face the enemy. I am your courage.” There is nothing you will ever face in your lifetime that is any bigger or greater than the God that stands behind you.  What you are up against today, whatever you find yourself facing tomorrow, no matter how big or intimidating, is minuscule compared to Him.  So why fear?  Draw your courage from the knowledge that your Heavenly Father is right behind you.

~Alanna

“What, then, shall we say in response to this?  If God is for us, who can be against us?” ~Romans 8:31

“Strengthen the feeble hands, steady the knees that give way; say to those with fearful hearts, ‘Be strong, do not fear; your God will come, He will come with vengeance; with divine retribution He will come to save you.'” ~Isaiah 35:3, 4

3 thoughts on “He is Our Courage

  1. Strong stuff here, without His strength, I might still be cowering in a comfortable corner, with Him I am able to step out with courage.

Leave a Reply

