A Friend Always Loves

e63bc67923e47cc9d759e04bbcf082fc I grew up running through fields, climbing trees, hiding in the barn rafters, and playing in the dirt with my imaginary friends. I’m most definitely not a girly girl. Nor did I have any siblings to share in the beginnings of making friendships. I’d rather be playing football out in the yard than with Barbie in her dollhouse. I   always felt like, aside from my two best girlfriends, I got along with boys way easier than girls. As I hit the teens, I realized that girls could be the most catty and petty human beings around. I found myself easily wrapped in gossip and critical judgement of other girls trying to climb the popularity ladder. I found that I was extremely insecure in most of my friendships because they were shallow and without God at the center.  

I’ve recently experienced a little “grown-up epiphany” that has shown me cattiness and pettiness will be thrown around by us women as long as WE let it. There is no beginning or ending age of a gossip or slanderer. We have the power to speak life and death over each other with purpose behind our every word. I had to realize how to be a good friend before I sought good friendships. Learning to allow God into my friendships was the answer.

There is very much to be said about a good, God-lovin’ girlfriend.  Now, I am very blessed to have a group of supportive women with whom I’ve chosen to live everyday life with. I’ve had to allow God to prune some destructive friendships, as well as allow Him to pave the way for new ones. My Canvas ladies as well as my two golden friends since kindergarten have truly helped me embrace having more female friendships. I can do that because I know that all of us have a similar goal in our friendships. We want to glorify God by praising Him through the good and bad. We’ve got each other’s banners lifted when need be, and I can honestly say I know beyond a shadow of doubt that will be supported, encouraged, and prayed for no matter what comes my way.

Please join us in celebrating our friendships as women of God. We can give Him all we have to offer; our marriages, children, jobs, struggles, and victories as we worship and share our hearts (and cake) this Saturday, January 24th from 6-9 pm during Prayer/Worship/Cake. I hope you come with high expectations! We’ve been praying for each and every woman that walks through our doors.

With love,

Callie

Philippians 1:3 “I thank my God for all the memories I have of you.”

Proverbs 17:17 “A friend always loves, and a brother is born to share trouble.”

Proverbs 13:20 “He who walks with the wise grows wise, but a companion of fools suffers harm.”

1 Corinthians 15:33 “Do not be deceived: Bad company corrupts good morals.”

Ecclesiastes 4:9-10 “Two are better than one because they have a good return for their labor. For if either of them falls, the one will lift up his companion. But woe to the one who falls when there is not another to lift him up.”

One thought on “A Friend Always Loves

  1. I love having good, solid friendships with those who are interested in lifting others up. Thanks for posting this, Callie. I’m full of joy and gratefulness that you have friendships that are healthy and encouraging!

Leave a Reply

