So, I am a Christian.

leap-of-faith_724_482_80

So I am a Christian. So what? I don’t act any different. I don’t feel any different. I pray before meals and read my Bible when I remember. When I am feeling generous, I may make eye contact with a homeless person and give them a dollar or two.

Wait, what makes a person a Christian? Oh right, I remember, I believe in Jesus. Jesus was the son of God who died and rose again for all of our sins. Wait… rose from the dead, really, son of God, are you sure that happened?  These are pretty big statements for anyone to say my God is big enough to raise the dead and sacrifice his only son for the world’s sin.

Being a Christian is not just about prayer, reading the Bible, and giving when it is convenient for you. It is about faith to not just say these statements but to actually believe them. Radical thinking has been embedded in the belief of Jesus since the beginning. A belief not based on our convenience but our faith. Lackadaisical Christians are convenient Christians. We are all the body of Christ. Lets speak up and be proud of our radical statements. That is what we are called to do.

I am a Christian with power led by Holy Spirit by God’s grace and mercy. We are called to be empowered not lackadaisical. We have God given authority and it is time we speak up and be proud of what we believe in a world that sees us as “crazy Christians”.  Let’s be radical and proud of our crazy. Let us be forgiving to the undeserving because we all our undeserving. Let us pray without ceasing to help others. Let us put our faith first and our pride last. Let us put action back into our words and back up what we say when we say I am a Christian with a life led by faith, kindness, and mercy. It is time we put our faith where our mouth is.

“Now faith is being sure of what we hope for and certain of what we do not see.”  ~ Hebrews 11:1

~Jessie

3 thoughts on “So, I am a Christian.

  1. Thank you for this blog, Jessie. It’s a reminder to me that being passionate about the right things may seem inconvenient or even out of place to others, but that God appreciates those who are passionate for Him and His heart.

  2. Lately, at the end of my day, I’m looking back at moments that I failed to show my “Jesus” badge and act instead of dismissing, great message.

Leave a Reply

