Thanksgiving Deserves a Moment

newdoxology

Reflections often give us our greatest gift….
Hope.
Statistics say that the holidays are the worst statistically for depression and suicide.
I can relate.
Christmas doesn’t give me the warm fuzzies. Even as a mildly well adjusted adult, the weight of childhood anxiety clouds my vision.
I remember holiday parties and drugs. I remember gifts given as apologies for a years worth of hurt and pain. I know the pain of the January arguments over unpaid credit cards bills.
I remember the smell of alcohol when it lingers in the air. I remember curling up on my bed with sisters and friends, waiting for the party to end. Sometimes the door needed to be locked to keep us safe from the anger.
Being raised by an alcoholic leaves scars. Even after years of healing, I still carry the heartache.
I am blessed to have a husband that grounds me, keeps my Scroogeness for rearing its anti-Christmas attitudes. I would curl up in my bed for the month of December if I could. But, that doesn’t make it better. Memories linger.
Why Thanksgiving?
Hope.
You can tell me you are thankful and reflective all year long. I don’t believe you. Because if we were all so grateful, our world would be different.
Thanksgiving reminds me of what I have. So much more than I deserve.
Thanksgiving reminds me to be sincere. If I truly reflect, if I choose to see all that has blessed me …. It’s easier to find peace. Joy is closer when I can grasp the gifts of a life well lived.
Thanksgiving is a perspective shift from the complaining and complacency to the overwhelming hope and joy that comes from contentment.
Thanksgiving for my today, keeps me strong enough to make it through Christmas. And for those of you looking to make a new legacy, to overcome the heaviness of the holidays, join me in focusing on what beautiful things we have.
If you find it hard to find your joy in trees, lights and jingle bells….you are not alone. I love Jesus!! I love my family. I love traditions and sugar cookies ….. But, I need thanksgiving to keep me focused on what really matters.
~Angela
Luke 6: 21 Then he (Jesus) spoke: You’re blessed when you’ve lost it all. God’s kingdom is there for the finding. You’re blessed when you’re ravenously hungry. Then you’re ready for the Messianic meal. You’re blessed when the tears flow freely. Joy comes with the morning.
2 thoughts on “Thanksgiving Deserves a Moment

  1. More and more… Thanksgiving is becoming my favorite day of the year. I’m thankful for a wonderful wife that in subtle ways, and sometimes not so subtle, reminds me of what is truly important. I’m thankful for two healthy daughters that bring me joy every day. I’m thankful for my friends who are as close as family. And most of all, I am thankful to God…from whom all these blessing have come.

    Thanks for this blog, it was well needed perspective.

  2. Thank you for your candid blog. We can all make a difference by living out the gratitude; it’s a good reminder. We still live in a world governed by an enemy that hates us…my prayer is that you refuse to allow him to steal your joy.

Leave a Reply

