My Desire

Hearts-Desire-221x300
“If I find in myself a desire which no experience in this world can satisfy, the most probable explanation is that I was made for another world.” ~C.S. Lewis
I think of this quote and its truth any time I think of the things in this life that I most desire.  I sometimes even ask myself:  would I be truly satisfied if I were to obtain these things?  If I were to receive every thing my heart desired, would I cease to desire things?  The answer is always a solid, sometimes-hard-to-swallow “no.”
We all have things we desire…a deep longing for something that almost makes us ache inside for wanting it so badly.  Sometimes it might be something concrete, such as a new car, a new house, food; sometimes they’re things that are a little more abstract, such as love and romance.  But whether what we desire is tangible or intangible, it will never satisfy that longing, though we probably would never want to admit that.
The truth is, what we long for is not on this Earth.  I’m convinced that if there were a thread tied to every desire we have, and if we were to follow that thread, we’d find it securely connected at the other end to the heart of God.  And though the thread may get tangled around earthly things, those things will never fulfill the desire…only God can.  He is what your heart longs for.
Lately, my prayer has been that when those things I long for start distracting me, that He’d remind me that nothing short of Him will satisfy me–that He’d fill me up with more of Himself so that I never forget that He is my heart’s desire.
~Alanna
“Whom have I in heaven but You?  And earth has nothing I desire besides You.  My flesh and my hert my fail, but God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever.”  Psalms 73:25, 26
One thought on “My Desire

Leave a Reply

