What Do You Do With Your Everyday?

 

crossWhat do you do with your everyday? It’s easy to get lost in the swarm of daily routines. Often times one day bleeds into another making it hard to differentiate between  them. If you took a cross section of my day it would look something like this: Wake up. Drink some coffee. Groggily stumble through the Bible. Pray with my eyes open so I don’t fall back asleep. Drink some more coffee. Get ready for work. Get Isaac ready. Forget something. Grumble at the rudeness of drivers. Get to work. Make copies of stuff. Tell a kid to take his hoodie off. Tell another kid to be pay attention. Make more copies. Reply to emails. Drive home. Cook dinner. Eat said dinner. Tell Isaac not to use his shirt for a napkin. Give Isaac lecture on proper hygiene. Prayers. Shower. Bed.

I guess you could say that my life is nothing out of the ordinary. Much of my life looks very similar to the person next to me.  It’s easy to get caught up with all of the duties of the day without dwelling on who God is and remembering just who we are in Him. It’s easy to loose sight of Him in the fog of the mundane.  It’s easy to get discouraged and grow stagnant in our walk with Him. It’s easy for this to become just another part of our drab list of routines.

I’m very conscious of my everyday. In all my busy-ness and in all my striving, I often wonder and even pray about how I could ever be shining a light through all the “have to’s” in life. Do people really see Christ in me making copies? Does anyone see Him in me putting grammar lessons on the board? I honestly do not know how they could. However,  oddly enough on a Sunday night just before the beginning of another typical week, I had a dream. In the dream, I was talking to someone. It was a normal, everyday kind of day. As I was talking, the person smiled and said, “I can see Christ. He’s right behind you.” As he said that, I realized that Christ was right behind me. He was big. You couldn’t help but see Him.  Even though it was hard for me to see Him at times, other people could. Not because of me, but because of who He is and how great He is.

I woke up feeling encouraged. As I’ve continued my ordinary routines of the week, I’ve walked a lighter step as I’ve been reminded of Christ doing His work in me and through me. Christ being big and behind me.

It’s in the ordinary that we prove to be extraordinary. It’s in the fog of the mundane that our light means the most to others. It’s in the everyday that our living can make the most impression for those who don’ t know Christ. It’s that smile that we give through the drudgery at work. It’s that kind word to that person  next to you. It’s that hug for the hurting. It’s that encouragement for the down and out. It’s that helping a neighbor in a pinch. Christ’s greatness isn’t just for our mountain tops; it’s for the trenches which is where most of us find ourselves.

Don’t you have a saying, ‘It’s still four months until harvest’? I tell you, open your eyes and look at the fields! They are ripe for harvest. Even now the one who reaps draws a wage and harvests a crop for eternal life, so that the sower and the reaper may be glad together. Thus the saying ‘One sows and another reaps’ is true. ~ John 4:35-37

~Janean

Leave a Reply

