My Constant

 

bigtreeb_500x277 Better is one day in your courts than a thousand elsewhere;
I would rather be a doorkeeper in the house of my God
    than dwell in the tents of the wicked.  For the Lord God is a sun and shield;  the Lord bestows favor and honor; no good thing does he withhold from those whose walk is blameless.” ~ Psalm 84:10-11

I’ve recently moved for about the 20th time since I’ve been an adult. Sometimes, the places I’ve moved have been beautiful homes that I couldn’t help but feel undeserving of them. Other times, on the other hand, I’ve had places where I had to mentally view it as a hard shell tent and learn to be content. This new place is one of those places. It isn’t the uncleanliness I found it in. It isn’t the location. It’s the fact that I feel that it could fall apart if I sneezed. But it doesn’t matter how I feel about it, that’s going to be home for the next year. Bottom line is I’m going to have to find some way to cope.

Adaptation is one of my strong points and I’ve learned to adapt to most situations, although this time had been a little harder. I looked at my son Isaac who has moved with me for the past 5 years. He gets excited about his new room. He doesn’t pay attention to the fact that the walls have cracks in them or that a chunk of his floor has been ripped out. He doesn’t question why he has to move there, instead,  readily gets to work with settling in.

It’s no problem for him because he knows that where he’s going is wherever l will be. The house has changed. The location has changed. The environment and people, at times, have even changed. But we’re together. I’m his constant.  He trusts that I will orchestrate his life down from who watches him to how we go about our daily routine. He trusts that it’s all taken care of.

In much of the same way, this is how I adapt. No matter where I go and how things may operate differently. God is my constant. Not only have I found that in every situation He has orchestrated. I trust that not only will He hold my house together, but He will hold me as well.

I don’t do this as well as an adult as my son does. My worries are for not just myself, but for my family. I just want to know that they are taken care of.  However, it doesn’t matter. As grand as my worries seem to me, they are minuscule  to an all powerful God.

It doesn’t matter where I am, where I’m going, or even how much fear I have, my hope will remain on my God. He is my Constant.

 I know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty. I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want.  I can do all this through him who gives me strength. ~ Phillipians 4:12-13

~Janean

One thought on “My Constant

  1. Wonderful, faith-filled sentiments, Janean! Thank you for this reminder of where and in whom our security lies. It’s fantastic that Isaac has absorbed this lesson so well…most likely through you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

