Hey! Guess Who’s Really Steering?

IMGA00571This was originally posted from my personal blog (That Girl) earlier this summer.  I’m happy to say that, he not only loves to ride his bike now, he rides it like a champ.

Today I just bought my seven year old a shiny, brand new bike! And I’m the only one excited about it. He’s not typically an ungrateful boy. Right now, he’s just  scared. Now, we’ve taught him how to ride, but he isn’t confident doing it. His knees are up in his elbows as he’s wobbly and trying to steer. The bike he learned to ride on is, in reality, for a 4 year old. My son feels safer with it because he feels like he has more control. The new one is harder to place his feet on the ground and that’s all he sees. He’s already worked out in his mind how he’s going to fall and how it’s going to hurt. He’s already convinced himself that this couldn’t possibly be a good thing even though his little behind hasn’t even warmed the seat.

Now, I know better. I see the bigger picture. He needs more space to not only steer better and a better range of motion decreases the amount of pedaling. I know that he will not only be able to ride the bike better, but even enjoy it more. Unfortunately, I’m going to have to make it happen. He will tear up and he will not have a good few days as I make him get on it time and time again until he’s mastered riding.

I wasn’t upset or hurt because his lack of (or should I say no) excitement. I’m in the car on the drive back thinking about all the times God was doing something good for me….beneficial for me….but, instead of thanking Him, I cry, get scared, moan, groan,….falter. He, just like I’m going to do with Isaac as soon as the rain subsides, makes me go through it anyway. Why? Because just like my son will be for me, He knows I will be obedient in spite of it all. He knows that I will not only come out of the experience stronger, but also more trusting as my son will be with me….some day.

I thank God, using my 20/20 hind site, because now I can see how all the things I cried over and feared over has taken me where I am today. My son will do the same as he coasting on his new bike. He will look back and see me waving behind him yelling “see, I told you so!”

I don’t know where you’re at right now and what you’re going through. But I do know that if God is in control of your life, He’s just that….. in control.

 And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose. 29 For those God foreknew he also predestined to be conformed to the image of his Son, that he might be the firstborn among many brothers and sisters. Romans 8:28

Whatever may have you in tears now, you will be able to look back and say “That may have been painful, but look where I am today.” Trust that your God is good and He doesn’t steer you wrong.

~Janean

One thought on “Hey! Guess Who’s Really Steering?

  1. Excellent! Many times, the victories that mean the most to us are the ones that God pushes us through whist we are digging our heels in or kicking and screaming. Then, when we are finally on the other side of it, we wonder what we were so afraid of in the first place. I know it’s that way for me. Thanks for sharing this!

Leave a Reply

