The Fifth Gospel

Intangibles: Views and Opinions“There are five gospels of Jesus Christ – Matthew, Mark, Luke, John, and you, the Christian. Many people will never read the first four.” – Gipsy Smith, American Evangelist.

I was studying the other day and I came across this quote and it stopped me in my tracks. At first read, I misunderstood it and with subsequent readings I finally picked up it’s meaning. The message itself was not really a new one to me. I’ve been saying a phrase similar for quite some time, “You might be the only Jesus people ever come to know”. The thought has always strode with me into life. I can’t say everyday I’ve lived up to the idea, but there have been times I have when it was convenient and many times I have when it wasn’t convenient.

I guess for me the idea that my life is basically one of the gospels of Christ is astounding and scary. My life story is a story as told by Jesus and, just like the Holy Scriptures, can be a guiding light for someone in the dark. Now, I’ll insert my obligatory disclaimer, I’m not saying I’m anything like Jesus or that I am Jesus. I’m saying our lives lived as followers of Christ might be the thing that brings people to Christ. They may see our hearts full of love and compassion, our bottomless hope when things refuse to go our way. They will see how we respond to pain and doubt. These are the things people will see and these are the things that most people outside the faith just don’t have. All in all, we’re all beggars. We as Christians are just beggars who have found bread and dry beds to sleep in. I think sometimes we may make the Christian faith to be a bigger burden than it really is. I think maybe we see it as this proper upstanding life in front of others and somehow never showing our hurts. It’s not. The Christian walk is loving God in all we do and experience. It’s loving God when it hurts so bad we just want to die. It’s loving God when we get passed over for what we have worked very hard for. It’s loving God in all things, good and bad, and it’s loving God where all can see.

You are the fifth Gospel of Jesus Christ. How’s your book going to read?

~Brad

One thought on “The Fifth Gospel

  1. Thank you for this blog, Brad! It has a fresh approach to this subject! It’s something that will stick in my mind. 🙂

Leave a Reply

