Just a Little Note

5479336200_40d8b444fcLife can just be downright discouraging sometimes.  There are days where hope seems nonexistent, peace seems like only a myth, and joy is fleeting.  Everyone around seems to have one woe after another: financial woes, physical woes, relationship woes, employment woes, etc.   And then there’s the rapid deterioration of our society and the world as a whole: wars, disease,              corruption, destruction…need I go on?

Now, if I may offer up some encouragement from Jesus: “…In this world you will have trouble.  But take heart!  I have overcome the world.” (John 16:33)  This is truth.  Furthermore, He says, “My sheep listen to my voice; I know them, and they follow me.  I give them eternal life, and they shall never perish; no one can snatch them out of my hand.  My Father, who has given them to me, is greater than all; no one can snatch them out of my Father’s hand.” (John 10:27-29)  This, also, is truth.  All of God’s Word is truth, infallible and indestructible truth.  Do you believe it–really and truly?  Do you stand on these truths?  When the enemy comes at you with lies and deceit, do you counteract those with the truth of God’s Word?

Ephesians 6:17 refers to the Word of God as “the sword of the Spirit.”  Wield it as such, as a weapon to pierce the lies of the enemy, to cut down the snares he sets.  Use the truth of His word as a light in those dark places. When you find yourself discouraged or dabbling in self-pity, lean hard on His promises.  When you have nothing else to stand on, stand on the truth of His goodness, His faithfulness, His immeasurable love and grace, His strength, and His sovereignty.  Cling to the truth that you are His beloved child and no one can snatch you from His grasp.  Hope appears when you choose to believe His word about who He says He is and what He says He’ll do.

“I remember my affliction and my wandering, the bitterness and the gall.  I well remember them, and my soul is downcast within me.  Yet this I call to mind and therefore I have hope:  Because of the Lord’s great love, we are not consumed, for His compassions never fail.  They are new every morning; great is Your faithfulness.”  Lamentations 3:19-23

~ Alanna

4 thoughts on “Just a Little Note

  1. That helps me sometimes…to remember that once we are His, we are His, and no one and no thing can ever take us from His hand. Praying for you, Neanie!

Leave a Reply

