#Encore: Praise You In The Storm

Welcome to the Rhapsody #Encore. On Fridays we will be reposting some of our readers most favorite posts. Todays repost is Praise You In The Storm from September 2011.


          The last month has been a very difficult month for Callie and me.  As most of you know by now and as I wrote in my blog last month, we were expecting.  Unfortunately, the pregnancy ended in a miscarriage.  I can’t tell you that I understand why it happened.  I can’t tell you that I didn’t ask God “Why us?” on several occasions.  What I can tell you, though, is that in the end God is still God and He is faithful and just.

Callie and I have been very blessed to have a loving family and caring friends around us to lift us up in prayers and to encourage us during this rough time.  We certainly have appreciated and felt every last prayer.  It is such as an awesome thing to literally feel God’s arms wrap around you as you know those that love you are lifting you up to Him.  I cannot even begin to express our gratitude for each of the prayers that we were sent out on our behalf.  I would like to take this opportunity to thank each and every one of you that has taken the time to pray for us and let us know that you care.

During this time, one of the things that has really helped me is the song, “Praise You In This Storm” by Casting Crowns.  If you have never heard of Casting Crowns, I suggest that you check them out.  They are an incredible band, and I absolutely love just about every song that they do.  In this blog, I wanted to post the lyrics to “Praise You In This Storm” in the hopes that it will encourage those of you that are in the midst of a rough time.  It has been an awesome encouragement to me, and I hope that it encourages you as well.

Casting Crowns

Praise You In This Storm

I was sure by now
God You would have reached down
And wiped our tears away
Stepped in and saved the day
But once again, I say “Amen”, and it’s still raining

As the thunder rolls
I barely hear Your whisper through the rain
“I’m with you”
And as Your mercy falls
I raise my hands and praise the God who gives
And takes away

[Chorus:]
And I’ll praise You in this storm
And I will lift my hands
For You are who You are
No matter where I am
And every tear I’ve cried
You hold in Your hand
You never left my side
And though my heart is torn
I will praise You in this storm

I remember when
I stumbled in the wind
You heard my cry to you
And you raised me up again
My strength is almost gone
How can I carry on
If I can’t find You

But as the thunder rolls
I barely hear You whisper through the rain
“I’m with you”
And as Your mercy falls
I raise my hands and praise the God who gives
And takes away

[Chorus]

I lift my eyes unto the hills
Where does my help come from?
My help comes from the Lord
The Maker of Heaven and Earth

[Chorus x2]

3 thoughts on “#Encore: Praise You In The Storm

  1. Great idea! It’s always interesting to reflect on blogs past.

    God’s plan may not be for us to understand…. perhaps not at first… perhaps not ever. I don’t know if a miscarriage is something God plans… but I know God can bring healing and restore joy in any situation. We know the pain of a miscarriage… then we had Ellie.

    All I reallly know is I can’t image our lives with any other little girl… and I can’t imagine you with any other little boy.

    1. Amen! God softly reminds me how Corey is exactly where he’s supposed to be. The pain of loss is deep, but the joy and love that Cor has brought into our lives is immeasurable.

  2. I didn’t realize that this was reposted. It is nearly impossible to imagine my life without sweet Corey. Though the sorrow may last through the night, His joy comes in the morning.

Leave a Reply

