The Answer is No!

Invitation_NO_GLOBALTOUR-800x575

There are days, as a mom, I could really pull my hair out. It can feel like pounding my head into a wall. Why are my children so stubborn?

 

I consider my daughters to be pretty smart. They are fairly responsible and I am known to brag on how incredible they are on numerous occasions. The word proud often falls off my tongue when I speak of them.

 

And then, there are days, the long, drawn out, difficult days. The ones when the timing is off. Everyone is cranky. Someone isn’t getting her way. A battle royal begins over the most simple of tasks or disagreements.

 

I know best. Why don’t they listen?

 

Why do I have to explain every decision, every “NO”?

 

I’m mom. I love them. I would sacrifice every part of my being for them. Do they not trust my heart? Do they not know that my NO is for their best interest, for their safety, for their future, for their now?

 

The answer is not going to change later. It’s not going to change after you ask me 50 times. It is just simply in their best interested that I say NO. Period. End of the discussion. Just, trust me.

 

God, Help Me!!

 

Grace!

 

Bold and beautiful are my daughters.  I am reminded that every ounce of their stubbornness is well earned and completely inherited.

 

How many times do I ask, waiting for the answer I want? How many ways do I say my requests? How many times do I push the line? How many days are stubborn, I-don’t-want-to-do-it-your-way days?

 

How many times have I been told NO?

 

How many times have I believed my own way was better? How many times have I chosen not to trust? How many times have I gone my own road, when the answer has very clearly been NO?

 

Grace!

 

Lamentations 3: 21-24 Yet I still dare to hope
when I remember this: The faithful love of the Lord never ends! His mercies never cease. Great is his faithfulness;
his mercies begin afresh each morning. I say to myself, “The Lord is my inheritance;
therefore, I will hope in him!”

 

Each day brings new hope, for me and for my girls. I may not know what to say. My hair may turn grey and I will earn the wrinkles on my brow. But, each day is a new day. And above any lesson I may teach, I pray they know that even when the answer is NO, and when there doesn’t seem to be an explanation, they are loved abundantly, graciously and mercifully.

 

And may we all learn to trust a little greater, even when the answer is NO.  Often times the answer we need is better than the answer we want.

~Angela

3 thoughts on “The Answer is No!

  1. Amen! I hate telling our Girls no… becaue it doesn’t feel like i’m saying “I Love You”. Saying Yes feels more like “I Love You”. I know I’m protecting them or teaching them respect by saying No sometimes,.. but it’s a battle for me because I still want them to have everything I can possibly give them. I want them to be happy. I pray I can contine to keep it balanced out. Enough Yes to let them enjoy life, enough No that they can appreciate it.

  2. You are being the mother they need, not necessarily the mother they always think they want. When they are older and look back on it, they will be eternally grateful for the “nos” you had to say now. Bringing them up in the love and admonition of the Lord isn’t easy…but as you’ve found out, it is emminently rewarding.

Leave a Reply

