A Twig Or Two

WAMH TwigIn May, we had our annual women’s retreat for Canvas. All the leaders had worked for months to get everything ready. We had arrived at the retreat center, Long View Ranch, and we more or less had everything ready and were anxiously waiting on the ladies to arrive.

I wanted to know what my purpose was for this retreat. I had an odd feeling that I really wasn’t sure what to do on this retreat. I was one of the small group leaders, but I wanted to hear from God as to what He wanted me to focus in on for this weekend. I decided to get alone and pray.

It was easy to worship God in this environment. Beautiful mountain-view, great weather. I sat down on a log bench and stared out across the field at the sun hitting the mountain side. I worshipped my Creator. Then I asked Him what my purpose was on this retreat.

Right after I asked, I looked down. You can see, in the picture above, what I saw. There were two pieces of twig sitting in the shape of a cross. The sun was shining under the bench and directly on this little cross.

God spoke to me through the Spirit and told me to focus on Him, and the gracious gift He gave me on the cross, and He would take care of the rest. I felt immediate peace.

It is amazing how something so simple, can put my mind at ease. I stayed there for a bit and rested in His presence. I worshipped Him just for who He is.

~Ashleigh

Matthew 6:33  But seek first the kingdom of God and his righteousness, and all these things will be added to you.

Philippians 4:5b-7 The Lord is at hand; do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God. And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.

2 thoughts on “A Twig Or Two

  1. I find that quieting my soul in God’s wonderful presence allows Him to bring small things to my attention…things that most would call serendipitous, but that we know come from Father God. That is where the best creative inspirations come from, no?

Leave a Reply

