Welcome Home! I’ve Missed You!

I recently made a post on Facebook about Mama cat, a feral cat, who went missing. The next day as I was doing a massage, (typically a good thinking or prayer time for me),  I thought about how this kitty cat’s story sort of relates to believers who wander away from God. So, here is the post followed by my afterthoughts:

mamacat, 4 O'Clocks dylan wig 005

“This is mama cat. When I bought this house 2 1/2 years ago she was here with her kittens. I captured her and her kittens and had them fixed and vaccinated. She has been at my door for all of this time every night, except for occasional brief absences, to be fed. Last Fall she actually allowed me to pet her and she would twirl around my legs, but no one else could get near her. She has been missing for about 8 or so weeks and I have worried about what demise she may have met living the life of a feral cat.

 

Laugh if you want, but I pray for these feral kitties and yesterday I prayed for mama cat and asked God to continue to watch over her even though I wasn’t even sure she was alive. Last night I went out on my front porch to feed the numerous other ferals and, low and behold, here came mama cat! She came racing up to me and loved all over me and was gulping food from the container before I could even put in in the bowl.

 

She is so emaciated that I can grasp her on either side of her spine and feel my fingers touch. She is literally bones. I gave her canned food that I keep on hand for special reasons and she ate and ate. Then, as I sat cross-legged on my porch, she crawled up in my lap and I loved all over her for the longest time. She is now in a crate in my garage with a fluffy bed, litter box, and food and water, resting until she gains some weight and strength so can take up for herself outside if need be.

 

I will care for her and nurse her back to health. I don’t know what her journey was all of these weeks, but I know mama cat can fend for herself as I have seen her capture and eat birds. How she became so frail is a mystery and I’m hoping it’s not from the hands of human cruelty. I intend to get her looking like she does here in this picture…isn’t she cute?

 

I get made fun of or told I’m wasteful of money for taking care of these kitties, or God forbid “wasting” my prayers on a cat, well I just let that roll off. But when a very feral cat that I’ve cared for climbs up in my lap, scared and hungry and just a sack of bones, and desires my comfort and knows that she is safe with me, well, that’s reward enough for me.”

 

Just like Mama cat, sometimes believers wander away, be it on our own accord or the result of allowing others to lure us away. Mama cat’s journey left her in a terrible state, the same state that sin leaves us in when we turn away from God. But just like Mama cat, when she saw her provider, came racing up excited and relieved, believers who have gone astray also race back to God once we see Him again. Sometimes we have to reach a desperate state to realize how much we need God.  1 PETER 2: 25 ~ For you were like sheep going astray but now you have returned to the Shepherd and Overseer of your souls.   I was so happy to see Mama cat and to know that she was now safe! God must be so delighted when we return to Him! I can just see God in my mind with His arms outstretched, smiling and saying, “Welcome home, I’ve missed you!”

 

 

Mama cat was starved and dehydrated, so frail and thin. It broke my heart to see her like that and I shuddered at what might have happened to bring her to such a horrible state.  We come back to God spiritually starved and the effects of our hunger are evident. We are weak and emaciated in spirit, sin having robbed us of the nutrients that feed our soul… the Word, prayer, relationship with our Father. Can you just imagine how God feels when He see’s us in this state? How sad He must be to see us so broken? How His heart must break for our condition? But there is hope to strengthen us!  JOHN 6:35 ~ Then Jesus declared,” I am the bread of life. Whoever comes to me will never go hungry, and whoever believes in Me shall never thirst.”

 

Mama cat was scared and willfully climbed up in my lap for comfort, she knew I would love on her and not turn her away. In the same way, we can climb up in God’s lap and let Him love on us. His love is beyond comprehension! He reassures us that He wants only the best for us and that He will always be there to comfort us.  HEBREWS 13:5 ~ I will never leave you nor forsake you.  JEREMIAH 29:11 ~   For I know the plans I have for you” declares the Lord. “Plans to prosper you and not harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.  PSALMS 46:10 ~  Be still and know that I am God.  (One of my favorite verses).  ISAIAH 41:13 ~ For I the Lord thy God will hold thy right hand, saying unto thee, “Fear not, I will help thee”.    It is in my nature to show compassion for animals, it’s a part of me. My first instinct was to examine her for injury, feed her, and show her compassion.  It’s also God’s nature to show compassion for mankind. He examines us for spiritual injury, He feeds us, He shows compassion and loves on us. We have already suffered the consequences of our decision to go astray; we punish ourselves, but God is there to forgive and comfort us in our brokenness. 2 CORINTHIANS 1:3-4 ~ Praise be to God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of compassion and the God of all comfort, who comforts us in all our troubles.

 

I provided Mama cat with a safe place in a large crate in my garage so she could recover in peace and quiet with proper bedding and food to strengthen her body.  God also provides protection for us in our times of weakness.  PSALMS 46:1 ~ God is our refuge and strength, a very present help in trouble.  PSALM 4:8 ~  I will both lay me down in peace and sleep; for thou Lord only makes me dwell in safety.  PSALM 32:7 ~  You are my hiding place; You shall preserve me from trouble; You shall surround me with songs of deliverance.  PSALMS 36:7-8 ~  How precious is Your unfailing love, O God! All humanity finds shelter in the shadow of your wings.   Beautiful promises!

 

And finally, for those who say that providing for these animals makes me wasteful or foolish, well, that’s an opinion that I choose to reject. I’ve heard people say that God is wasting His time on some people or that some will never change so just give up on them. Aren’t you glad God chooses to reject those opinions? I am, because I was once one of those people. Time spent on contributing to someone’s life in a Godly way is never wasted, even if that person never comes to know God. So does that make it foolish? No, because in return you are contributing to your own life by showing compassion and love. God loves and cherishes us in an infinite way and we always find our worth and beauty in Him.

 

ISAIAH. 43:1-2, 4 ~

Don’t be afraid, I’ve redeemed you.

I’ve called your name. You’re mine.

When you’re in over your head, I’ll be there with you.

When you’re in rough waters, you will not go down.

When you’re between a rock and a hard place,

it won’t be a dead end—

Because I am God, your personal God,

The Holy of Israel, your Savior.

I paid a huge price for you:

all of Egypt, with rich Cush and Seba thrown in!

That’s how much you mean to Me!

That’s how much I love you!

I’d sell off the whole world to get you back,

trade the creation just for you.

 

 

 

K.K.

 

3 thoughts on “Welcome Home! I’ve Missed You!

  1. Great blog, K.K.! I can relate to Mama cat. I, for one, am forever grateful for God’s mercy and compassion in my own life. Glad Mama cat made it back home! 🙂

  2. This is a beautiful story of God placing His heart for living things, whether two or four-legged. Your compassion for His creation is a marvellous illustration of His love and concern for us. You are sowing seeds of love no matter whom that love is lavished upon. In addition, your writing talent gives the story more opportunities to be a conduit for God’s transforming power to reach out and touch another’s heart.

Leave a Reply

