Microwave Society

rightnow            My wife Callie and I are doing a Financial Peace University Life Group, and our most recent lesson was all about marketing.  We learned about how brands and salesmen market their products and how much thought, time, and money goes into that marketing.  EHI Retail, Wrigley’s German subsidiary, discovered that the “checkout zone” accounted for 7.1% of the store sales while only taking up 1% of the store space.  We live in a time when marketers and most everyone else prey on our impulses and our “I need it now” mentalities.  Most of us would rather have our food taste like a rubbery piece of cardboard and be ready in a minute than to have it taste delicious but have to wait an hour.

I feel like this mindset and mentality has bled over into our walk with God.  It seems that we would rather rush through life with our own plan destined for failure than wait patiently on what He has in store for us.  How often do we miss out on God’s perfect plan because it doesn’t happen in our timing?  Having just recently become a father, I know now more than ever that I would do anything to protect my son.  Matthew 7:11 says, “If you, then, though you are evil, know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your Father in heaven give good gifts to those who ask him!”  I think it’s time that we as Christians decided that God’s plan is worth waiting for.  I can’t think of anyone better to place my faith or trust in than the one who made me.  That doesn’t mean that waiting and trusting will be easy, but, in the end, it’s worth it.

-James

4 thoughts on “Microwave Society

  1. Totally agree, James. We’ve become an impatient society that wants a quick fix, fast lane, or drive thru for everything, including our spiritual growth. I’m guilty of this myself. I blame the Industrial Revolution. Thanks for the post!

  2. I agree wholeheartedly! Instant gratification has taken the place of quality in much of our lives. In addition…why do we ask God to bless our plans as opposed to His plans in us?

  3. It definitely isn’t easy to change that type of thinking when everyone and everything around us tells us that instant gratification is the only way to do things. There are literally no more movie stores because we can get any movie that we want in the push of a button. It’s insane when you think about it. I am definitely struggling with changing my mindset when it comes to this. Denise, I think that we as Christ followers need to strive to be at a place where our plans line up with His plans.

Leave a Reply

