Redeeming The Time

twisted clockTime is short.  We hear this so often from teachers of the Word.  Sometimes I wonder how in the world I can accomplish anything for God in the time that is left before Jesus comes, and then remember that it doesn’t depend on me, my strength, or my ability to figure things out.  I admit, I am a person whose mind tends to focus in on problems, working them to death as if it were a computer instructed to calculate the last digit of the number Pi {for those not familiar with it, there is no last digit of Pi, it just keeps going}.  I know in my heart that God is the only one that truly knows what He is doing, and what the answers are; however, my brain seems to insist on trying to solve it.
God has been telling me to use my time wisely, for no one knows when He will close the book of time and say, “No more.”  He is busy changing what I cannot transform inside, calling me to cooperate with Him to impart a larger blessing to those around me.  He still instructs me to be busy with what I already know to do:
“Whatever your hand finds to do, do it with all your might; for there is no activity or planning or knowledge or wisdom in Sheol where you are going.”  ~ Ecclesiastes 9:10
Jesus tells us to walk wisely, to get the best value out of the time possible, like going to the grocery store and buying the best quality produce for the lowest price so more can be accomplished with it.
“Therefore be careful how you walk, not as unwise men but as wise, making the most of your time, because the days are evil.”  ~ Ephesians 5:15-16
Within this framework, there is no need for us to stand on our own strength or limited wisdom; God has made provision for us in that.  Even our shortcomings can be used for His purposes.  He has been telling me to allow my faith in Him and everything He is to bridge the gap across the chasm of death in my life.
“Now to Him who is able to keep you from stumbling, and to make you stand in the presence of His glory blameless with great joy, to the only God our Savior, through Jesus Christ our Lord, be glory, majesty, dominion and authority, before all time and now and forever.”  ~ Jude 1:24-25
So, Jesus tells me to quit trying to be a repository of human reason or strength, because I have none of my own that can do anything apart from Him.  My “computer” keeps telling me that “Those answers are not in my repertoire.”  I don’t have to work up the confidence to do what God wants from me, because He knew my weaknesses before I was even born, and decided to work with me anyway.  He is our praise and works with us individually, despite the foibles we have, even the ones of which we are not aware.  And He tells us to keep going no matter what anyone else has to say about us, because He is the one whose opinion and work are ultimately relevant.  Let us pray for one another to allow ourselves to be used by Him efficiently and for His glory.
~ Denise Chambellan
4 thoughts on “Redeeming The Time

  1. Thanks Denise! When I realize it doesn’t depend on me, my strength, or my ability… I actually feel a little relief. I still push on as if it does depend on me (because we are his leading hand) but I think you’re right, it’s only by his power and grace that any of us can do anything.

  2. Thank you for your response, Ted. Jesus impressed on my heart that my adequacy/inadequacy was unimportant in the light of His power through grace working through me, as it is only His love that accomplishes His will…all we do is cooperate with Him. And that is a comforting thought.

  3. Can you imagine how much God could do for His kingdom and glory if our human-ness didn’t always get in the way? So grateful that He isn’t deterred by us. Thank you for this post, Ms. Denise!

Leave a Reply

