Walk Through The Valley

viewThere have been so many times in my life where I just wanted to “feel” God. I needed to really know that He was really there. There are days where it takes nothing more than a huge amount of faith to pray when you’re feeling like you’re just surrounded by four walls. But be encouraged, that it is faith.

Being on a mountain is awesome. You can see so far, everything seems clear including a direction. At times, you even feel closer to God. The valley, however, is when real growth happens. We struggle. We become tired and frightened. I like to think about my relationship with my son during these times. He’s getting bigger now, but when he was tiny, I carried him everywhere. He wasn’t fully conscious of how close I held him just like how little I comprehend the fullness of God holding and carrying me at times. It is in the valley that I get a better glimpse of His love and care for me better than any time on a mountain.

It is these moments that are not only bringing me the realization of God’s love for me and mine for Him, but also how walks through the valley is refining me in a way that being on a mountain top couldn’t. This is because, right here and right now, I’m looking up to and reaching out for God in a way that I never have before. When in the valley, the only things there are to look at are the circumstances and worries that surround you. What is around us isn’t always worthy of our focus. In the valley is the only place where you come to the point of realization that the only direction to look is up.  You find yourself choosing to look up, not in exhilaration like that felt on a mountain top, but desperate realization that there is nothing else, but our God. It is there at that point that brings us closer to Him, not being on top of the mountain. It is in the fog and the murk (or in the trees) that put us into a fuller view of Him. It is there that brings us into a complete trust in Him. ~Janean

“Surely goodness and love will follow me all the days of my life and I will dwell in the house of the Lord, forever.” ~Psalm 23:6

One thought on “Walk Through The Valley

Leave a Reply

