Revealed

dark-room-light-through-window-hunched-man1More than a few years ago, I kept a pretty big problem all to myself. It wasn’t what you would call a lie, at least not a first. It was more of an issue of keeping important information to myself. Well, after a while, it turned into a bit of lying, mostly because I had to cover up what I knew. This info didn’t just affect me; it included other people, more specifically my husband. But, I kept getting in deeper. Before I knew it, it had consumed me. I was restless, couldn’t fix the problem on my own, couldn’t say there was a problem or I would have to go all the way back to the beginning. I let this go on for almost a year.

 

Lets get a little real about some of the fears we have about truly opening up to somebody. Wow. We have some major fears. So many what-if’s. What about my reputation? What are they really going to think about me? What if they judge me? What if they tell someone else? How will they respond? Will they forgive me? Will they still love me?

 

We all believe the truth is a good idea. We all know it leads to healing. We know we can’t do this on our own.

 

But, What if?!!!

 

Our flesh and desire to protect ourselves often wins out. But, here is a little truth for us all.

 

– Mark 4:22, “For whatever is hidden is meant to be disclosed, and whatever is concealed is meant to be brought out into the open.”

– Luke 12:2, “There is nothing concealed that will not be disclosed, or hidden that will not be made known.”

– Ephesians 5:13, “But everything exposed by the light becomes visible—and everything that is illuminated becomes a light.”

 

So, there it is. No secret stays a secret. No sin is hidden forever. But my favorite is the promise right there in Ephesians. Because no matter how bad you think it is, or what might happen, there is a promise from God.

 

“…and everything that is illuminated becomes a light.”

 

Your sin, your lies, your shame, your secrets. Your testimony becomes light.

 

So, all of that bad you imagine will happen, could really happen. Yes, someone may say something they shouldn’t. Yes, you may have to get real help to find healing. Yes, you may have to ask for real forgiveness.

 

But, in the very end, you have a promise; you and all of your hidden things can become the very light needed in very dark places. But first, you must find courage and strength because these burdens we carry only become light when they have been revealed, exposed, made visible, shared.

~Angela

 

 

3 thoughts on “Revealed

  1. Thank you for this honest post, Angela. I think everyone has skeletons in their closet they would rather no one else knew about, yet God’s promise holds true that His healing can only take place when we bring those hidden things to light. Our fears are usually bigger than whatever that “thing” is, but His promise of forgiveness, healing, and love are so much larger, as the sun would be to a speck of dust on earth. His opinion trumps every other opinion, including our own, no?

  2. I remember after my divorce the enemy was bringing to my memory and tormenting me about some things about myself I had kept secret from my childhood. I was going through counseling and finally felt miserable enough to open up about those things. She shed so much light on what it really was and all these years I was being tormented over something small and insignificant. I remember exclaiming to her and to myself that the truth really does set you free! Once we have the truth, Satan has no power over us.

Leave a Reply

