It’s Not About You

What-About-MeI have always been a believer in good stewardship. Not that I have always been good at it.

 

I think we are given gifts: money, talent, time, etc ….. the blessings you have in your life. And we are called to be good stewards with these things. In other words, we invest wisely, make good decisions and give out of our abundance.

 

Ok, I know, not always an easy task. Because, most of us concentrate on what we don’t have. If you feel you don’t have anything or enough of what you think you deserve, it’s easy to become a hoarder. If you think you don’t have enough time, you don’t want to give it away. If you don’t have enough money, you won’t tithe or give to charity. If you don’t value your talent or think it is respected enough you just don’t use it.

 

Yep! We are selfish, maybe even a little bratty. Well, If God would give me more opportunities, more money, a bigger house, if I didn’t have to work so much. Everyone can justify their lack-of blessing. All along missing the point entirely.

 

Let me say this, I am completely guilty of all of it. God, forgive me when I take my eyes off of you.

 

Abundance is perspective.

 

To those who use well what they are given, even more will be given. Luke 19:26

 

A few days ago I was coaching my kids at a cross-country meet. I have been coaching this team for 4 years. 2 yrs of which, neither of my children were part of the team. I was investing my time so the team would be great when my youngest was able to run. When I started I had about twenty 3rd through 5th graders running with me. We have grown tremendously over the last few years and I have over 90 athletes this season. And, it can be a bit of organized chaos.

 

In all the chaos, at Monday’s meet, it was necessary to be a coach first then mom. So difficult, my team needed it’s leader and I couldn’t see my daughter finish her race. I was heartbroken. More than she was. She ran a great race and told me all about it at the end. I have held a heavy heart most of the week, wondering if it may be time to step down as a coach so I can be the cheerleader my daughter needs.

 

I am questioning my investment. Missing the blessing. Overwhelmed. It would be easier for me, easier for my family, if I wasn’t coaching.

 

Then, I get a note from one of my parents. She has a son with Sensory Processing Disorder who runs with me. Her short note tells of her son’s cross-country experience. She described his stand up character when another child had fallen during a race. An opportunity he had at another meet to encourage a friend having an anxiety attack. And, her little boy finding a little release from his SPD while he runs.

 

Perspective.

 

I can’t begin to tell you all the ways God is reminding me of stewardship. But, more than anything he is telling me, “It’s Not About YOU!” Let me be transparent, teaching my daughter to give of her time and talents is way more important than being a cheerleader.  Me wanting to cheer her on, well it’s selfish, I want everyone to see that I can do it all. Look at “supermom”!! God has given me the opportunity to give a few hours, encourage a few smiling faces and make a difference in 90 lives, including my daughters. It is different than I expected, harder than I thought and this isn’t about me.

 

“Give me what you can to glorify MY Name.”

 

“Give me what you can to glorify My Kingdom.”

 

Dear God. Thank you for blessing the little I give. Not for me but for another.

~Angela

 

7 thoughts on “It’s Not About You

  1. This is a wonderful post, Angela! Thank you for your thoughts and transparency. We do not realize how God uses the little we give until much later, after it produces fruit. But we need to give back even if we do not see that fruit. One plants, another waters, another reaps. And God always gives the increase.

  2. Exactly what I needed to hear today! This is something that God has been having to remind me of a lot lately. And truthfully, remembering that our lives are not about us at all but all about glorifying and serving Him…just remembering that seems to simplify life a bit. It takes off a lot of self-induced pressure. Thank you for this! 🙂

  3. Thanks for all you do (and sometimes for what you’re not available to do)! The girls and I know you do it all for His Glory and Our well-being.

Leave a Reply

