The Fine Line

divided-heartI don’t believe in astrology but if I did, by definition, my astrological sign for Gemini would be spot on. I would be classified as the “twins”, which would mean I have two brains and would be somewhat alarmed due to the fact that scripture clearly tells us not to be double minded (James 1:8). My connection with this comparison is that I have a strong tendency to empathize with different and opposing points of views….so much so that I can become weary and overwhelmed easily when it comes to decision making and where I stand. Please don’t misconceive what I’m attempting to communicate with this illustration. I now and will always be testing information, wisdom, etc.  based on if it aligns with scripture or not. And I will most likely disregard any extra droppings that fail to do so…so sorry.

The issue isn’t whether or not I believe in the one true God or that He sent His only Son to die for me. The issue usually boils down to the “fine line” interpretations of scripture. We can dig back into history and study translations, original texts and so on and so forth…and that’s wonderful! As an active Christian hungry for the word of God and truth we should absolutely pursue these things! But…..there are the fine lines that seem to present themselves over and over on certain topics. A lot of scripture comes to us very matter of fact and direct and then the rest we seem to end up quibbling about throughout the denominations. But, I digress….

One thing I tend to hear a lot from non-christians is that there are many contradictions in scripture, which while merely skimming the surface may SEEM to be true in some ways. I believe one must also take into account the lens from which one is looking through. Aside from the black and white I believe God is not limited to one track thinking, teaching, loving, etc. I choose to believe He is a multifaceted God. He has many ways to accomplish purpose through and for His children. One form of discipline or praise may be appropriate for one child who learns in a certain way while another form of discipline and praise may be more suitable for the other child who functions opposite of the first. It’s all very interesting to think about!

Have you ever encountered two different individuals whom you respect and admire greatly only to find they have conflicting opinions concerning the same spiritual matter? It happens. And if it hasn’t happened then give it time. It will.

At Canvas Church I lead the prayer team and am frequently called upon to pray for others. One thing that you can almost always guarantee to hear me include in most prayers is discernment. I love praying for discernment for others because I truly believe it’s vital to the Christian walk. Discernment can dynamite the fine line you encounter in many ways. You see, as human beings we can only go so far and then comes the Holy Spirit. We can educate, educate, and educate but we can’t replicate what the Holy Spirit provides. And we can’t rely solely on our own understanding (Proverbs 3:5-6). We NEED that guidance. It’s a must.

The next time you encounter your “fine line”, test it, take it to God in prayer, listen to what the Holy Spirit is teaching ..align it with scripture.  And if you still feel He is being silent, don’t stress. Seek first His kingdom and righteousness (Matthew 6:33)…it’ll all fall into place, in His perfect timing;)

Leesa

4 thoughts on “The Fine Line

  1. Excellent blog, Leesa! I, too, am “centrist” when it comes to my brain’s functioning. Sometimes that makes it hard to discern which way to go on certain issues. God uses Scripture to point us in the right direction, and listening to His voice, developing the sensitivity to hear what the Holy Spirit is saying to us through cultivating intimacy with Him.

Leave a Reply

