Just Another Day

url-1So, last year on my birthday I caught myself saying what many people will find themselves thinking or saying on their birthday, you know, it’s….”just another day”! Some of us don’t even like to acknowledge our birthday. The more and more I thought about the idea of it being “just another day”, the more I realized I was thinking about it all wrong. Sure, to me, it was a day to mark that I was getting older, and it was and is no big deal. However, I am surrounded by family and friends that are eager to celebrate. So why say that it’s “just another day”? I think we begin lose the importance and celebration of our life and what it has to offer. When we have kids, we tend to want to put so much more emphasis on their birthdays and much less on ours, and though this seems normal to us, it may appear confusing to them when there is no special celebration on mom or dads birthday. So I have decided that there are a couple of reasons why we should not say that it’s “just another day”. As we get older, we think less and less about the celebration of our life and start thinking of how old we are actually getting. But with age is supposed to come wisdom….right? Well, it is all very dependent on what value you put on yourself and what you put into every day that passes.
First and foremost, although we may not see the value in our life at all moments, our God has created us and delights in us daily. He seeks us out and prepares a way for us. We are continually in His thoughts. In Psalms 139, David says, “You have searched me, Lord, and you know me. You know when I sit and when I rise; you perceive my thoughts from afar. You discern my going out and my lying down; you are familiar with all my ways. Before a word is on my tongue you, Lord, know it completely. You hem me in behind and before, and you lay your hand upon me. Such knowledge is too wonderful for me, too lofty for me to attain. Where can I go from your Spirit? Where can I flee from your presence? If I go up to the heavens, you are there; if I make my bed in the depths, you are there. If I rise on the wings of the dawn, if I settle on the far side of the sea, even there your hand will guide me, your right hand will hold me fast. If I say, “Surely the darkness will hide me and the light become night around me,” even the darkness will not be dark to you; the night will shine like the day, for darkness is as light to you. For you created my inmost being; you knit me together in my mother’s womb. I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful, I know that full well.” How can I not see the importance and potential in my life when the God of all of creation celebrates it daily. How awesome is our God, that He seeks us out, He moves creation, that we may have purpose.
I believe we lose the motivation to think we are ‘useable’ anymore, and that lowers our worth in our own eyes. Let me tell you something, YOU ARE WORTH IT! God in fact thought you were so worth it that He sent His Son, Jesus Christ, to die for you, so that you could live with Him forever. He is the same Son that intercedes to God on our behalf because He thinks we are WORTH it. God may and will use you on a daily basis whether you realize it or not, whether you’ve asked Him to or not, in the lives of people you may never know you’ve affected. Our worth is generally the culmination of our life experiences as well as our perceived success or failure. You may think that you don’t own much, that you may have had a dysfunctional upbringing, or that you have a not-so-close family life, that you may have a job or a school you don’t like, that you may have made terrible mistakes or decisions that you regret to this day. Well guess what, you are not alone! Sure our direction has a lot to do with these things, but our WORTH can’t be found in them. Our worth is in what we make of right now! God has a plan for you to prosper, not to fail. So today can’t be “just another day”! It is a day God has planned for me and for you! He is ready to use us today if we make ourselves available. Remember that we are created in the likeness of Him, how much more potential could you ask for?
Lastly, and I know we are not all parents, but as a father I questioned “just another day” the most! When my kids birthday comes up, I want to celebrate them! I want to see that look on their face when daddy is happy that they are alive and well and his! That’s right, they are mine (God first but trusted to me), and I am happy! I love them so much and I want them to see that everyday, but especially on their birthday, they are celebrated for the life that they have and the life that they give. If you are a parent, you know what I mean and this is why I can’t say “just another day” anymore. Just like me as a father on my kids birthday, our heavenly Father rejoices over us on ours. I think He delights in our creation and wants to see us find joy in our life and the life we give. So regardless how old and crinkly I get and no matter what comes my way, I am a child of God, a Pinnacle of God’s creations, and I will never see my birthday, nor any day as “just another day”!
You are celebrated by God! How amazing is that? Pastor Zack

One thought on “Just Another Day

  1. Thank you for this wonderful celebration of God’s love for us! He makes a “big deal” over us because His creation of us was the very expression of that love, more than our minds could ever know or appreciate. Even if no one else in the world celebrates our being…He does!

Leave a Reply

