Like Sand In An Hourglass

Sand-in-HourglassWhen I was attending private school, I took an aerobics class for gym in eighth grade.  The teacher was kind of hokey.  I remember during one class, we all laid down supine on the floor and focused on our breathing.  Apparently aerobics also included meditation, like I said, hokey.  While we were focusing on our breathing, the teacher told us to imagine our bodies were full of sand and nothing else.  Then she had us imagine that someone drilled a tiny painless hole in the bottom of our heels and try to feel the sand flowing out.  The same process followed with our calves, bum, shoulders, arms, and the base of our skull.  She wanted us to feel all the sand emptying and the weight lifting.  It worked and was pretty cool I’ll admit…even though the teacher was still weird.

You may be wondering what this has to do with anything. God brought this memory to my mind during worship at Canvas recently.  I was praying for more of Him and less of me.  I was wondering how it would look and how long it would take and what it would feel like.  He brought this image to my mind.  It would be a process, and a slow gradual one at that.  As time went by, I would feel the difference.

This is a sincere promise that Christ gives us in Matthew 11:28-30:

28 Come to me, all who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. 29 Take my yoke upon you, and learn from me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. 30 For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light.”

When we allow Him to empty ourselves of the earthly, and allow Him to replace it with Spirit, it will lighten our burdens.  I won’t look the same for everyone, and the struggle will still be there.  But the burden will be lightened.

Will you learn from Him?  Will you allow Him to give you rest?

~Ashleigh

One thought on “Like Sand In An Hourglass

  1. Excellent thoughts about His desire for us to rest in Him and allow ourselves to be simple yet profound conduits for His power to flow out to the world around us. Thanks for this blog, Ashleigh!

Leave a Reply

