Christian Kryptonite

shameShame…one of the enemy’s favorite weapons in his arsenal. He uses it against all of us at some point, some of us more than others. We all experience it to different degrees and for different reasons. Sometimes we feel shame for what we’ve done; other times we just feel shame for who we are…or who we are not. And in some cases, we feel shame for all of the above.
 
Shame makes us insecure, passive, and gives us a sense of inferiority. And like Adam and Eve being ashamed of their nakedness, it causes us to try to hide from God and others. Not physically ducking behind bushes and what not, but shrinking back from His presence and from the company of other people. In my opinion (and I could be wrong), shame, along with fear, is to Christians what Kryptonite is to Superman. As long as it’s present in our lives (and as long as we allow it to be), it weakens us and disables us, spiritually speaking. Not a perfect analogy, I know, but you get the point.
 
I would be lying if I said that shame no longer had that kind of effect on me, but I would be equally dishonest if I said that Christ was not setting me free from it. He brings me back to the Cross, and it’s as if He’s saying to me (and you), “Why do you hide in shame? Do you not know that I purchased you with My blood? You are mine now. You can be righteous because I am righteous. You have nothing to be ashamed of. You have been redeemed.”
 
~Alanna
 
“I delight greatly in the Lord; my soul rejoices in my God. For He has clothed me with garments of salvation and arrayed me in a robe of righteousness…” ~Isaiah 61:10
 
“This righteousness from God comes through faith in Jesus Christ to all who believe. There is no difference, for all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God, and are justified feely by His grace through the redemption that came by Christ Jesus.” ~Romans 3:22-24
6 thoughts on “Christian Kryptonite

  1. Si! Great blog, Yaner. And just like with things we’re afraid of and wake up one day to realize we’re not afraid of it anymore, He does the same thing with our shame. I remember reading through a journal that I once avoided because it brought up the hurt and shame of my past , but that one time it didn’t. I realized that I wasn’t ashamed of it anymore so I burnt the journal because like my past, it was no more:)

  2. Toxic shame is something I believe most if not all Christians deal with a great deal. It’s wonderful to know that Jesus came to obliterate our shame by the power of His blood.

Leave a Reply

