Fearless

I am a sports fan, and I enjoy watching a game on television every now and then when I get the opportunity.  I used to watch the games live.  Now, with the ability to record games and my schedule being fuller than it used to be, I often record the games and watch them later.  This usually works out well because I can watch a game in record time.  This cuts down on my nervousness and fingernail biting.  There is the rare occasion, though, where I already know the outcome of the game.  When that happens, I often still watch the game.  I am just not nervous because I already know the outcome.  If I know that the team that I am rooting for is going to win, it doesn’t matter how many points they are down at some point in the game, I know they will eventually make a run and win the game.

You may be wondering where I am going with this.  Well, with the events that happened in Boston, there were a lot of people that woke up Tues morning in fear of what would happen next.  I can’t say that I didn’t at least think about the possibilities of similar events occurring at different locations across the United States.  With all of the wars and rumors of wars going on around the world, it seems to get easier and easier to live in fear.

As Christians, though, we know how the story ends.   The book has already been written, and there is no surprise twist at the end.  We serve a God that is bigger than anything that has taken place on this earth or that will take place on this earth.  Exodus 14:14 says, “The Lord will fight for you.  Just stay calm.”

Am I the only person that struggles with this?  I can stay calm when I know the outcome of a basketball game, but it is hard for me to stay calm when I know that my God is still in control and on the throne.   2 Timothy 1:7 says, “For God has not given us a spirit of fear, but of power and of love and of a sound mind.”  If you are like me, and you woke up this morning with a spirit of fear, take those thoughts captive.  Allow God to be God, and allow Him to fight for you.  The battle has already been won.  Which side are you on?

-James

6 thoughts on “Fearless

  1. Thanks for sharing this James! It’s very comforting to know the outcome of the “game” of life because our Savior reigns!

  2. I have struggles with control issues. And I have to remind myself daily that HE, the LORD, is in control of the future. This was a timely blog on an issue we all have thought about in the past few weeks. Thanks.

  3. Lisa, I think it is human nature for must to want to be in control. It’s part of that whole spirit/flesh battle that I struggle with daily. It is amazing how freeing it is to let God be God in all things.

Leave a Reply

