Trust The Expert

trust puzzleThere are a lot of professionals (mechanics, doctors, hairdressers, contractors, etc.) who provide services to us, and we trust that they know what they’re doing. We see them as experts, therefore we trust that whatever they do is what’s best. For example, your doctor tells you he’s going to have to cut this or remove that or tells you to take this or that medicine, and you leave yourself to his expert hands because…well, he’s an expert, right? Even though he’s an imperfect human capable of making mistakes, you trust him. Why is it then so difficult to trust the One who is perfection itself and makes no mistakes?

I realized recently that I don’t fully trust God. There are some areas in my life that I relinquish with full abandon into his care, with little to no doubt that He’ll do what’s best for me. But then there are other aspects, such as my child and his well-being, that I have not completely committed to Him. And He called me out on it.

Truthfully, there really is no good reason not to trust Him. I can’t even think of one. On the other hand, there’s a plethora of reasons why He’s the only one we should trust. He’s good, faithful, all-powerful, loving, all-knowing, etc. He’s completely void of flaw or fault, which means it is impossible for Him to make a mistake. You will never hear Him say, “Oops!” (which I have heard once from a “professional” placing an IV needle in my arm…right before I passed out).

The point I’m trying to make is that trusting Him wholly and completely is not always easy (at least, for some of us), but it should be since we find it so easy to place our trust in so many of the human variety. The more we fully grasp the idea that God is the one true Expert in all things–that He knows what He‘s doing, even when it doesn‘t make sense to us–the easier we will find it to trust Him with all things.

“As for God, His way is perfect: The Lord’s word is flawless; He shields all who take refuge in Him.” 2 Samuel 22:31

~Alanna
4 thoughts on “Trust The Expert

  1. I think we all struggle with that issue, “trust”. We as humans rely too much on our on thinking and ways to produce what we need. Great reminder.

  2. Thanks, guys! I know this is pretty basic stuff, but I was having a particularly hard time with it recently, when it dawned on me that I don’t treat the people who cut my hair or fix my vehicle or whatever with the same kind of doubt as I was God at that moment. I tend to be a want-to-be-in-control planning type, so this trusting everything (especially my little boy) to His care without worrying about all the “what if’s” is a challenge. I am learning though. 🙂

Leave a Reply

