Right Place, Right Time

dylann wallsThese past few months have been such a whirlwind. Sometimes I wonder if I’m taking enough time to enjoy all of the awesome things that are happening. In the middle of all of this chaotic time, there has been a day that I have been looking forward to. The building and putting up of walls is a big day in building a house. It turns a stack of concrete and turns it into a building. I know God has been with me on this whole journey, but I cannot thank him enough for the blessing he gave me Saturday.

 

My schedule has been so booked lately; I didn’t even realize that the walls of my house were going up the same day I planned on running (or walking for the most part) my first 5K. Both were important to me. Obviously putting up walls was a little more important, but I had already made a commitment to 6 other people and I couldn’t let them down. I wanted to do both, and put it in God’s hands to make a least part of it happen. I was hoping I would be at my house to put up at least one of the big walls.

 

Saturday morning came and I prayed to God that I wouldn’t stress all day about making it to my house on time. I decided that He would put me at the right places at the right time. So we did the 5K, and then I headed straight to my new neighborhood. I was trying not to stress, but was hoping and praying I could at least put up one wall with the wonderful church that is sponsoring my house.

 

And wouldn’t you know God delivered (as He always does!) I got there in perfect timing. They were just about to put up the first wall when I arrived. Doing this was a very emotional thing. Building our future home is emotional for me anyway, but this was the first sign of an actual house!

 

I also wanted to savor this moment with my boys since they can’t be there while the construction was happening so I took the advice of one of the volunteers, Ed. I decided to have a picnic with them in our new house so they could enjoy the day too. I think letting them see all of the different stages, and explaining to them everything that is going on in the house helps them feel like they’re a part of everything. I think this helped me feel like I was taking the time to rejoice in this blessing.

~Dylann

You can follow more of Dylann’s story on her blog: Journey to a Habitat Home

5 thoughts on “Right Place, Right Time

  1. Dylann, I’m really enjoying your blogs. It’s amazing to read about the way God is working in your life! Just more proof of what a good God He is. 🙂

  2. So wonderful to follow your story on your journey. 🙂 God blesses us from His love for us…praise to Him that we don’t have to earn it!

Leave a Reply

