Pilate Faces Jesus

crown-of-thorns-and-gold-cropTwo men are facing each other in a Roman judgement hall.One of them represents imperial authority and is dressed in the robes attaining to his position. Carrying the scepter of earthly and temporary authority, he is surrounded by all the things that represent his power. The man is rugged, but the lines in his face show that the privileges of his life are not what they seem.  His eyes are those of a cynic. His name is Pilate.

The second man is a carpenter. He stands before Pilate because He has been accused of revolting against civil authority. His face, tanned by the sun and wind, is kind. His poise is impressive. His eyes, clear and straightforward, reveal that He is unafraid. His clothing and demeanor are very unlike Pilates; no royal trappings for this man though He is a king. The crown of thorns only enhanced the contrast between the two men.

When speaking to Jesus, Pilate could only marvel at the wisdom of Jesus whose kingdom was that of Spirit and Truth. Pilate could not understand. He saw before him a man with a purpose. I imagine that staring into the eyes of Jesus would have rattled the very core of Pilates bones. At the height of their debate Jesus says, “To this end was I born, and for this cause came I into the world, that I should bear witness unto the truth. Everyone that is of the truth heareth My voice.”  John 18:37

Pilate could only respond with, “What is truth?”

I’m sure Jesus pitied Pilate.

What is truth? Men still ask that question today and the answer comes back through God’s Word. To know truth you have to stand for truth no matter the consequences. Jesus died for it.

It saddens me greatly that Jesus suffered in the garden alone. The Son of God had no one there to pray with Him and comfort Him. I am deeply moved by His cries to let this cup pass from Him when He asked His Father, “Is there no other way?”. The human Jesus did not want to suffer death and I think we forget at times that He was human and felt the very things we feel. Jesus went obediently and willingly to the cross. He had the power to strike down the guards and destroy Pilate, but He didn’t. How do you explain a Love that you can’t comprehend? Boundless, deep, and everlasting. Thank you, Jesus, for taking my place and sacrificing Your life so I can be free.

~K.K.

3 thoughts on “Pilate Faces Jesus

  1. I can’t even begin to comprehend it either. Although I tried for years… and asked hundreds of questions that only brought about more questions. Whenever I think about it… the song “My Savior” by Aaron Shust comes to mind… and his lyrics “I am not skilled to understand”. Aaron and I definitly have that in common.

    Thanks for the post…

  2. Thank you for this blog KK. Though provoking and reminding us of the love beyond comprehension that conquered our sin, the grave, and our hearts.

  3. “What it’s truth?” Wow…made my mind race with the Word of God and what it says about truth. Thanks for this post. Really made me dwell on that phrase.

Leave a Reply

