Through The Car Window

car windowHave you ever had one of those moments where you just know God has changed you from the person you used to be? The moment can be very small, but it just makes you feel all warm inside. I always say it’s God’s way of showing you that you’re making the right choices. I have had a few of these moments in the past few months that stand out for me.

One in particular was just the other day. Anyone who has ever ridden in a car with me knows that I have really bad road rage. Yes, I’m THAT person. I would love to have the whole road to myself if possible.

The other day I was driving obviously to close to someone’s bumper. I didn’t even realize I was doing it until the lady hit her brakes really quickly to let me know I was making her mad. My first reaction was to go around her.

I didn’t have my window down, but as I’m passing her I happen to look over and see the woman (with her child in the car) yelling what looked like some very vulgar words at me. Now, because of my road rage, or just my sometimes temperamental attitude in general I usually would have started getting mad at this lady, but in this instance I felt peaceful and not angry.

The next red light was, of course a red light. I waited for the car to pull next to mine and I did something that surprised me, I motioned to her that I was going to pray for her. And I started praying right there at the red light.

I did this not because I was judging what she was doing, but because I have been that person so angry at the world. I wish that when I was that bitter person someone had showed me that people could be gracious even when I was being rude. I have no idea if that person even thought twice about what I had done. I do know that God was showing me that He is always teaching as long as I am willing to learn.

“Look, God is all-powerful. Who is a teacher like him?” (Job 36:22) If you do not take the time to stop and look at what He is trying to show you when you deal with trials, then what are they really worth? I am so thankful that I have a God that takes things like a woman cursing at me through a car window, and makes it a lesson of my life. And I hope I can continue to pray for people, instead of letting the anger get in the way of His word.

~Dylann

4 thoughts on “Through The Car Window

  1. Thank you for sharing this Dylann! I was getting mad the other day in the car and Leesa reminded me ever so lovingly….”Jerod, remember we have a Canvas sticker on the back of the car”. hahahaha. We HAVE to remember we represent our Lord and Savior. And I love what you are saying…that God is constantly teaching us this. Good blog!!!

  2. I find that some of the deepest lessons I learn are from God’s voice coming through in those small, everyday incidents. Very nice blog, Dylann! 🙂

  3. “take the time to stop and look at what He is trying to show you”… There is great truth in that line Dylann. I definitley struggle with that. Thanks for the blog… and thanks for the reminder!

  4. Thank you for sharing this, Dylann. I often think about a concept I read about years ago that “irritating” people and circumstances are God’s “sandpaper” for us to smooth off our rough edges so we can be His love to the world. He will eventually take away your road rage completely; in its place you will find peace in the midst of the biggest storms. It’s exciting to watch you grow and be blessed!

Leave a Reply

