All Things

walking-trail-behindWhen you read or hear the verse “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me” Philippians 4:13, what does it mean to you?

Eight months ago it meant something totally different from what it does now. Eight months ago I decided to change my life once and for all. I weighed 394lbs and was smoking a pack of cigarettes a day. It was killing me and I didn’t even know it, well maybe I knew and I just didn’t care. Maranda (my wife) opened my eyes on July 2nd 2012 (as many people know I have been called by God to serve His kingdom by ministering to children and youth). Maranda and I were watching a television show about a woman who had throat cancer and was struggling to breath. Maranda turned to me, looked me right in the eyes and said the words that would change me forever. She asked me “How are you going to preach like that?”

Looking back, it was God speaking through Maranda. It was God asking me how was I going to do the plans He has for my life if I don’t care about it or completely trust in Him. I’d heard or read Philippians 4:13 many times, but it was always something I said, but NEVER really lived. At almost 400lbs I thought I couldn’t do anything about it. Smoking a pack a day, I thought they had a control over me (maybe they did). I wasn’t putting God first, I wasn’t trusting in Him. It wasn’t I can do everything through Him, it was I can do most things.

On July 2nd God made me realize, if I didn’t take care of myself how was I going to do what He has planned. So, I went to the park after work on the 3rd of July and started walking. 20 minutes later and only a mile in, I thought I might die. That’s when it hit me. I now knew what “it” meant. I can do ALL things through Christ who strengthens me. Not just the easy stuff.

~BJ

7 thoughts on “All Things

  1. Watching you change is amazing BJ! Your will to to succeed is evident… and the fact you give the credit to God is truely inspiring.

  2. I cannot tell you how I rejoice with everyone else that you are becoming the man of God He intended you to be! I am certain that God will open new roads for you that never would have occurred to you or anyone else. Supporting you and your family in prayer, and watching His transformation take place spiritually as well as physically! 🙂

  3. Pingback: Wide Open Spaces

Leave a Reply

